Camogie: Nine in a row for Kilmessan

October 09, 2017

Kilmessan's Megan Thynne gets in her strike against Na Fianna during the Meath Senior camogie final at Lomans Park

Kilmessan 2-8  Na Fianna 2-4

Kilmessan won their ninth Meath Senior Camogie title in a row with this four point win over Na Fianna at a wet St. Lomans Park Trim. In a repeat of last years decider Na Fianna did not make it easy for holders Kilmessan.

The holders were held scoreless until the 23rd minute when Nadine Doyle pointed a free. Erin Leddy grabbed two points from play for Na Fianna and Katie Mulvhill popped over two from frees in the opening quarter of the game. County star Megan Thynne pointed from play on the stroke of half time leaving Kilmessan trailing by 2 points at the break.

Kilmessan Junior player and earlier substitute on in the Junior Final, Aileen Donnelly, who was introduced as a sub in the Junior final two hours earlier was brought on in the second half and from this moment on the Kilmessan forward line settled into playing better camogie.

Kilmessan keeper Tara Murphy brought off one of the saves of the day with a brilliant bloke on what was a rocket of a shot on goal from Meath captain Claire Coffey Na Fianna.

Goals were on hand in the second half and the gave the large crowd in attendance in Trim something to cheer on.  Na Fianna's Shauna Ennis Na Fianna  Megan Ni Coileain, Kilmessan both hand passed their goals to the net.

Aileen Donnelly slotted over 3 points from frees and gave a great performance in her second game of the day.  Katie Ni Coileain goal mid way thought the second half to secure the game for Kilmessan.

Exchanges were fair throughout the field with some great blocking from Na Fianna but the experience just giving Kilmessan that extra help to hold onto their lead before  Catherine Neary netted for Na Fianna in the  the 60th minute but the title was heading to Kilmessan for yet another year.

After the game Na Fianna's Aideen Slattery was presented with the Player of the Match Award

Kilmessan now go on to play the first round of the Leinster Club Championship next Sunday 15th October 2017

Kilmessan Team: Tara Murphy, Shannon Thynne, Rachel Kelly, Michelle Horan, Laura O Neill, Ailbhe Lynch ,Tracy King , Caoimhe O Leary, Stephanie Horan, Ashling Walshe, Megan Thynne 0-1, Ashling Mcloughlin, Nadine Doyle 0-2, Katie Ni Coileain 1-1, Megan Ni Coileain 1-0. Subs : Aileen Donnelly 0-4 for Ashling Walshe,  Kelly Gorman for Stephanie Horan, Maeve O Leary for Michelle Horan,

Na Fianna: Leah McNally, Aishling Byrne, Aine Kirby, Meabh Downey, Annette Parkes, Emma Coffey, Sophia Payne, Shauna Ennis 1-0, Aideen Slattery, Katie Mulvihill 0-2, Erin Leddy 0-2, Sarah Ennis, Claire Flynn, 17. Claire Coffey, Maire Kirby. Subs : Catherine Neary 1-0 for Claire Flynn, Emer Fagan for Annette Parkes, Leah Devine for Katie Mulvihill,

Most Read Stories