Senior Club Hurler of the Year?

October 05, 2017

Clockwise: James Kelly, Evan Fitzgerald, Conor Shirren, Podge Geoghegan, Darren Reilly and Darragh Kelly

Senior Club Hurler of the Year contenders.

The curtain came down on the Meath senior hurling championship last Saturday with that epic encounter between Kiltale and Kildalkey. In the end Kiltale prevailed to claim a four in a row of Jubilee Cup titles.

There were some outstanding individual displays right through the campaign that started back in late May.

Here's our six contenders for Senior Club Hurler of the Year...

James Kelly, Kiltale: Outstanding for the four-in-a-row champions all season and delivered a Man of the Match performance in the final.

Evan Fitzgerald, Kildalkey: One of the stars on the county minor team and undoubtedly Kildalkey's hurler of the year in his first season.

Darragh Kelly, Ratoath: One of the top scorers in this year's senior championship and a powerhouse in defence as last year's IHC winners made it to the quarter-finals.

Podge Geoghegan, Kildalkey: The team captain was totally committed in every game in a bid to raise the Jubilee Cup.

Conor Shirren, Kiltale: Made the number 7 jersey his own this year and gave commanding performances on every occasion for the holders.

Darren Reilly, Kilmessan: His ability to take scores from play and frees was one of the reasons Kilmessan made it to the semi-finals.

Most Read Stories