Meath All Ireland Champions, September 20th, 1987

September 20, 2017

Meath captain Mick Lyons raises the 1987 Sam Maguire Cup

This day thirty years ago Meath claimed the All Ireland Senior Football Championship title with a 1-14 to 0-11 win over Cork at Croke Park. It ended a twenty year barren spell for the Royal County.

Cork raced into a five point lead and after 25 minutes led 0-7 to 0-3.

A brilliant Mick Lyons block on Jimmy Kerrigan's shot in the opening quarter denied Cork a certain goal and when Colm O'Rourke found the Rebels net minutes later Meath were well on their way to claiming Sam Maguire number 4. 

Front l-r: Gillic, Ferguson, Flynn, O'Malley, Harnan, Foley, Hayes. Back l-r: O'Rourke, Lyons, McQuillan, McEntee, Stafford, O'Connell, Beggy, Cassells.

The Rebels had looked the better team early on but from that magical O'Rourke moment involving David Beggy and Bernard Flynn there was only going to be onr winner. Meath were in front at the break, 1-6 to 0-8.

Meath dominated the second half and by the third quarter stage were out of sight. Stafford and Tomkins traded early points but the Rebels were not to score again until the final minutes. 

Meath scorers: Brian Stafford 0-7, Colm O'Rourke 1-1, David Beggy 0-3, Gerry McEntee, PJ Gillic and Bernard Flynn 0-1 each.

Meath: Michael McQuillan, Robbie O'Malley, Mick Lyons, Terry Ferguson, Kevin Foley, Liam Harnan, Martin O'Connell, Liam Hayes, Gerry McEntee, David Beggy, Joe Cassells, P.J. Gillic, Colm O'Rourke, Brian Stafford, Bernard Flynn. Subs: Colm Coyle for Cassells, Padraig Lyons for O'Connell.

Youtube credit: officialgaa

Most Read Stories