Schools: Delight for St. Josephs Boyerstown

June 19, 2017

Amber Cosgrove St. Josephs with Sarah Leonard Oristown during the Girls Division 4 final at Pairc Tailteann. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THIS GAME CLICK HERE

The Meath Cumann na mBunscol Girls football finals took place in Pairc Tailteann. There were seven titles up for grabs.

St. Josephs Boyerstown claimed their first Girls Division 4 title since 2006 with this eight point victory over Oristown in the third final of the day.

Boyerstown NS 3-3 Oristown NS 1-1

Boyerstown held a 2-1 to 1-0 interval advantage and started the game in whirlwind fashion with two goals from the very impressive Amber Cosgrove. Oristown fought back and were rewarded with a Emily Morgan goal. Alana Rogers kicked the only point of the half as St Josephs went in at the break four points to the good.

The winners put this game to bed in the opening ten minutes of the second half. Emily O'Regan got in for their third goal while Cosgrove and Rogers added points. Oristown captain Sarah Leonard send over a fine point but it was not enough as Boyerstown went on to claim their first title in 11 years.

After the game Caroline Gibbons presented the Girls Division 4 Cup to Boyerstown captain Amber Cosgrove.

St. Joseph's NS Boyerstown: Toyah Hennessey, Caoimhe Keyes, Amelie Treacy, Chloe Rogers, Sarah McHugh, Amber Cosgrove 2-1, 7 Alana Rogers 0-2, Emily O'Regan 1-0, Katie McHugh, Alannah Rattigan, Orlaith Reilly. Subs: Cayla Becton, Jasmine Barry, Rebecca Reilly, Sophia Reilly, Sarah Jane Barry, Caitlin Ratty, Áine Lynam, Chloe White, Aoibhinn Ratty, Éabha Darcy

Oristown NS: Chelsea Sheridan, Grace Hoey, Jennifer Ward, Lucy McAleese, Leah Morris, Grace Rooney, Sarah Leonard 1-0, Molly Canny, Ava Galvin, Emily Morgan 1-0, Cáit Melady. Subs: Caroline Kendall, Laragh Grimes Quail, Hollie Nixon, Aisling Nolan, Roan MacDermot, Emily Rooney, Sarah Molloy

Referee: Paul O'Donnell

Most Read Stories