AFL2: Nobber brought back down to earth by Skryne

June 15, 2017

Nobber's Fiachra McEntee

Skyrne 3-18    (3.10)
Nobber 1-10    (0.02)

After the highs of a great championship victory over Walterstown came the lows of a demoralising  A league defeat to Skyrne.

Skyrne were far and away the best team much sharper in their approach and showing a high level of accuracy in front of goals, as they led by 3-10 to 0-2 at the break.

Even though 14 points inferior in this game Nobber are a better side than showed up on the night and will hope to redeem themselves in the next round

Nobber scorers - Fiachra McEntee 1-3, Niall Farrell 0-3, Stephen O'Brien 0-1, Dale Larkin 0-1, Dean Halpin 0-1, Thomas Murtagh 0-1.

Nobber - D Hutchinson, E Fagan, P Meade, J Condra, B Heffernan, S O'Brien, N Farrell, T Murtagh, A Farrell, G Campbell, D Larkin, B Meade, D Lambe, F McEntee, D Cassidy. Subs - Gavin Farrelly for Alan Farrell, Richard Shields for Heffernan, Dean Halpin for Lambe, Johnny Donohue for Campbell, Barry McEntee for Cassidy, Tony McEntee for Fagan.

Skryne report

Skryne 3-18 Nobber 1-10.

Nobber scored 1-4 without reply in the last seven minutes of this A League match played in Skryne last night (Wednesday). By that stage of the game Skryne were out of sight leading by more than 20 points and had taken their foot of the gas so to speak.

Skryne were on top from start to those last few minutes when the game was as good as over. On an evening ideal for good football played on a pitch boasting the best surface in the county the Blues started at a lightning pace and were 1-5 to 0-1 up as early as the eight minute. They went on to lead by 3-10 to 0-2 at half time with the goals coming from Niall Morley, Mark Battersby and an excellent effort from Jason Fox.

Apart from the goalscorers Skryne were on top all over the field and the second half proved to be a tame affair.

Skryne - Des McAvinney. Declan Morley, Eoghan Greene, Niall Lenehan (0-1). Paddy Carpenter, Mark Harrington, Dermot Brennan. Aidan Tuite, Colm Craigie. Eoin Smyth (0-1), Darragh Campion (0-3), Niall Morley (1-3). Paddy Fox (0-3), Mark Battersby (1-3), Jason Fox (1-4). Subs used - David Lynch, Timmy Lennon, Frank Carty, Oisin Gryson and Darren Fox.

Most Read Stories