B FL Div 5: Drama on the Hill as over time edges Drums out

April 20, 2017

Drumconrath's Chris Tighe

Meath Hill 1-12 Drumconrath 1-11

Meath Hill staged a late late smash and grab as Drumconrath led 1-11 to 0-9 following a Gavin Finnegan goal and a Leighton Irwin point as the game entered injury time. 

Meath Hill pointed on 61 and then Pierce McGrath scored a penalty a full 6 minutes into injury time to leave Drumconrath still a point to the good.

2 points on 67 (Michael McCabe) and Shane McCabe) 68 minutes gave the home side an unlikely win.

Drumconrath had looked to be home and hosed in what was a close game throughout despite the Home side opening the scoring after just a minute with a McGrath free. Drumconrath responded with points Robert McEntaggart and Jamie Myles as Kieran Slavin had pointed for Meath Hill.

With the eagerly awaited May Championship meeting nearing both sides looked for a boost as Pado Farrelly edged Drums ahead as Ross McGrath leveled the game as the 1st quarter ended.

Chris Tighe again pushed Drums clear but Ryan Carry responded immediately with a well taken free and another free from Pierse McGrath edged the Hill ahead.

Drumconrath pointed 3 times on 23, 25 and two minutes into injury time from Farrelly, Shaun Murray and McEntaggart to lead 0-7 to 0-5 at the break.

Two early 2nd half points from Farrelly and sub Daniel Byrne as Michael McCabe replied for Meath Hill. Donnachadh Boyle and Byrne traded free's as the game entered the last quarter with Drums ahead 0-10 to 0-7.

Boyle showed he is useful with the foot as well as the pen and pointed from play with 5 minutes to go (as we taught) to narrow the gap to two points. Meath Hill where given a great chance to take the lead but Eoin Muldoon saved Pierse McGrath's spot kick but Boyle added another from play to leave it 0-10 to 0-9 after 58 minutes play.

Drumconrath looked to have secured the points with Finnegan netting and Sub Irwin in his 1st game since 2013 adding a trade mark point. 

Pierse McGrath's point on 61 looked like a consultation score but a full 5 minutes later he hit the net with the second spot kick. Most felt that that was that but the late late show was in town as the 2 further points sailed over and the referee finally blew with 69 minutes played. 

Drumconrath; Eoin Muldoon; Robert McEntaggart (0-2), Packie Dunne, John Lynch; Damien Glass, Stephan Crosby, Conor Martin; Jamie Myles (0-1), Chris Tighe (0-1); Shaun Murray (0-1), Brendan Lyons, James McMahon; Pado Farrelly (0-3), Gavin Finnegan (1-0), Alan Dunne. Subs; Daniel Byrne (0-2) for Murray, Sean McMahon for McMahon, Michael Og OGallachoir for Tighe, Leighton Irwin (0-1) for A Dunne.

Most Read Stories