Leinster club IFC final: Brennan wins it for 'Cilles

November 26, 2016

Rosemount's Israel Ilunga and Boidu Sayeh close in on Niall Ronan (St Colmcilles) during the Leinster IFC final at Pairc Tailteann. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THIS GAME CLICK HERE

St Colmcille's (Meath) claimed the AIB Leinster Club IFC title with a dramatic win over Rosemount (Westmeath) at Pairc Tailteann on Saturday

St Colmcille's (Meath) ................. 0-13
Rosemount (Westmeath) ............. 1-9

Played in ideal conditions, dry, overcast, no wind or sun, matters concluded in thrilling fashion with team captain Ben Brennan landing the stoppage time close range free that secured provincial honours for Colm Nally's men.

Scores were tied six times in an engrossing decider played in front of good crowd in which both sides were well represented. The outcome was decided in a welter of excitement with each team making strong cases to claim the title.

Both sides had their chances to claim the title with Rosemount the more wasteful early on while St Colmcille's passed up some good chances at the town goal in the latter stages.

The decisive free was called for a foul on Graham Reilly, whose searing break from midfield was ended by Rosemount's Declan Mullen who incurred a black card.

Graham Reilly gets away from Declan Mullen on his way to earning that match winning free for Colmcilles

The county star made a big contribution with four points from midfield, one less than the team captain who top scored with five (three frees).

There was still time for Rosemount to force extra time and maintain their bid to become the first Westmeath club to win this title, but they were unable to force and additional 20 minutes.

St Colmcille's were more clinical than Rosemount and responded  well to the concession of the only goal of the game. They were undaunted by wides registered in the final quarter and their spirit was rewarded.

St Colmcille's are the third Meath club to win this title following on from Ratoath 12 months ago and Wolfe Tones in 2004.

Rosemount were first to show with Declan Mullen's fourth minute point. Graham Reilly's effort was off target before team captain Ben Brennan levelled. The sides were tied once more before the break.

Points from James Conlon and Reilly saw Colmcille's move 0-3 to 0-1 clear by the 13th minute. Rosemount were wide three times in the opening half from scoreable chances.

A David (Dude) McCormack pointed free trimmed the gap to the minimum before St Colmcille's move three clear by the 20th minute. Rosemount enjoyed a prolific spell with scores from McCormack (free) and Boidu Sayeh (free) that levelled matters at 0-5 each.

In between those scores Andy McCormack landed one of the points of the game with help from Theo Watts and Declan Mullen.

St Colmcille's closed out the opening half with a trio of scores at the Hospital end. A brilliant leap by Niall Ronan led to James Conlon scoring. Ben Brennan added with a nicely sliced score. Then in stoppage a left-footed Reilly effort left it 0-8 to 0-5 at the break to the Meath men.

Ben Brennan raises the Sean Eiffe Cup at Pairc Tailteann

Andy McCormack's second excellent point got the second-half scoring going. Then David (Dude) McCormack netted with aplomb to leave Rosemount ahead 1-6 to 0-8 after 38 minutes.

Points from Reilly and Brennan (free) had the Cilles back in front, but scores from Boidu Sayeh and Dude McCormack restored Rosemount's lead. St Colmcille's claimed the latter stages by 0-3 to 0-1 to lift the Sean Eiffe Cup

St Colmcille's - Jordan Browne; Adam Lynch, Jamie McDonnell, Ciaran Ward; Eoin Woods, Ian Mullen, Joe Sweeney; Graham Reilly (0-4), Robbie McCloskey; Ciaran Kelly (0-1 f), Ben Brennan (C) (0-5, 3fs), David O'Byrne; David Sheeran, Niall Ronan, James Conlon (0-3). Subs - Conor O'Byrne for D O'Byrne (45), Jack Reynolds for David Sheeran (45).

Rosemount - Eoin Carberry; Damien Carroll, Eamon Boland, Darren King; Andy McCormack (0-2), Enda Boland (C), Boidu Sayeh (0-3 2fs; David (DD) McCormack (0-1 f), Israel Ilunga; Luke Kelly, Theo Watts, TJ Fox; David Tone, Declan Mullen (0-1), David (Dude) McCormack (1-2 fs). Subs - David Malynn for Kelly (33), Plunkett Maxwell for TJ Fox (42), Cathal Daly for Mullen (bc 60).

Referee - Seamus Mulhare (Laois)


Most Read Stories