MFC Div 3 Final: Double for Clann Na nGael

November 01, 2016

Clann Na nGael keeper Eoin O Griofa is under pressure from Jamie Smyth and Aron Brennan (Ballivor/Boardsmill) during the Meath MFC Division 3 Final at Pairc Tailteann.

Clann Na nGael added the LMFM Meath Minor Division 3 Football Championship title to the Division 4 league crown they won earlier in the year with this victory over a gallant Ballivor/Boardsmill combination at Pairc Tailteann.

Clann na nGael 2-14 Ballivor/Boardsmill 2-7

Clann Na nGael started in whirlwind fashion and had 2-4 on the scoreboard after nine minutes of play. Captain Cian Swaine got them off the mark with two excellent points. The roving Colie O Griofa found the net, Rory Tuite pointed and Darragh Swaine added 1-1 to stun the combination side.

Ballivor/Boardsmill slowly but surely worked their way in to the game. Niall Durkan got them off the mark after 12 minutes. The impressive Morgan Callaghan added two points and Aron Brennan narrowed the gap to two goals after 24 minutes.

Clann na nGael captain Cian Swaine raises the MFC Division 3 Cup

This woke Clann na nGael and they closed out the half with a flurry of points from O Griofa (2), Cian Swaine and Kevin Tiernan to go in at the break 2-8 to 0-5 in front.

The eventual winners were rocked in the early stages of the second half as Ballivor/Boardsmill were totally dominant. Durkin landed his second point before full forward Callaghan raised a green flag after a quick free by Durkin. 

At the other end keeper Evan Burke was doing his best to keep his team in the game with two outstanding saves. With ten minutes remaining Clann na nGael were 2-10 to 1-7 in front and as in the first half finished with four points in the closing stages set them up for the win. Ballivor/Boardsmill sub Cian McCarthy closed out they scoring with a goal.

Clann Na nGael celebrate at Pairc Tailteann

After the game Jimmy Henry presented the Division 3 MFC Cup to Clann Na nGael captain Cian Swaine.

Clann Na nGael: Eoin O Griofa, Conor Kelly, Jack Kelly, Peter Bird, Killian Swaine, Colie O Griofa 1-2, John Farrell, Cian Swaine 0-6, Jordan Herring 0-1, Kevin Tiernan 0-1, Conor Fenton, Rory Tuite 0-1, Ben Brennan 0-2, Dirmuid O Donnchadha, Darragh Swaine 1-1. Subs: Sean Ferguson, Joe Cully, Luke Brogan, Gary Kelly, Tomas Doyle, Tommy Hanly.

Ballivor/Boardsmill: Conor Smith, Martin Browne, James Kelly, Craig Hynes, Jamie Smyth, Jacob Ryan, Ryan Sheridan, Evan Fitzgerald, Niall Durkin 0-2, Aron Dunne, Brendan McKeon, Danny Dixon, Aron Brennan 0-1, Morgan Callaghan 1-2, Ciaran Dowling 0-2. Subs: Odhran Henry, Cian McCarthy 1-0, Evan Burke.

Referee Liam Reddy

Most Read Stories