MFC Div 5 Final: Commanding display by St. Cuthberts

November 01, 2016

Cian Mcbride wins a penalty for St Cuthberts as Keith Hennessy and Eoghan Monaghan Duleek Bellewstown look to the referee during the MFC Division 5 final at Pairc Tailteann.

St Cuthberts claimed the LMFM Meath Minor Football Championship title in fine style with this sixteen point win over Duleek Bellewstown in the opening final at Pairc Tailteann on Bank Holiday Monday.

St Cuthberts 5-9 Duleek Bellewstown 1-5

The winners laid the platform for success in the opening twenty minutes. Hugh Staunton got the scoreboard working, Eoin Kavanagh, Karl Reilly and the impressive Eanan Peppard followed suit before Mikey Buchanan got the game's opening goal. Duleek Bellewstown finally got off the mark with a Jamie Crosbie point but Cuthberts replied in fine style. Half forward Kevin Barry got in for two quick goals and St Cuthberts went in at the break 3-4 to 0-2 up.

St Cuthberts captain Declan Ball raises the Division 5 MFC Cup at Pairc Tailteann

Peppard and Kavanagh extended that lead with early points in the second half. Duleek Bellewstown revived their slim hopes with a Jamie Crosby point and soon after a goal from Cormac McGroggan, pouching to the net from a 45. Their revival was short lived. Cian McBride was fouled in the Duleek Bellewstown square and Kavanagh converted the resulting penalty. Buchanan followed that up with a pointed free and Peppard closed out the scoring with a goal and a point in the closing stages.

St Cuthberts celebrate

After the game John Kavanagh Minor Board Chairman presented the MFC Division 5 Cup to St Cuthberts captain Declan Ball.

St Cuthberts: Keith Hennessy, Brian Byrne, Eoghan Monaghan, Richie McKeever, Lee Hennessy, Cormac Lindsay, Eanan Peppard 1-4, Declan Ball, Hugh Staunton 0-1, Kevin Barry 2-0, Cian McBride, Dylan Byrne, Karl Reilly 0-1, Eoin Kavanagh 1-2, Mikey Buchanan 1-1. Subs: Matthew Reilly, Jack Harte, Philip McHugh.

Duleek Bellewstown: Finn Hartford, Ali Erodigan, Cian Kelly, Eoin Connell, Dean Brodigan, Jake Carolan, Gary Reddy, Jamie Crosbie 0-3, Aaron Seery, Cormac McGroggan 1-0, Evan Ryan, Aidan Gallagher, Joseph Corduff, Sean Maguire, Luke Heeney 0-1. Subs: Callum Cooney, Padraig McGroggan 0-1, Aidan Agnew, Chris Woods.

Referee: Barry Campbell

Most Read Stories