MFC Div 1: 'Hill' down Tara Boys

October 25, 2015

Summerhill's Conor Frayne with Robbie Clarke Skryne during the MFC Div 1 final at Pairc Tailteann

Summerhill were crowned Meath Minor Football Championship Division 1 winners with this five point win over a very gallant Skryne team today at Pairc Tailteann.

Summerhill 1-14 Skryne 1-9

Summerhill played with the aid of a strong breeze blowing in to the O'Mahonys end for the first half. The eventual winners dominated most of the opening 30 minutes. Cathal Ryan put them two up inside five mintutes, converting a brace of frees.

Eoin Smith opened Skryne's account with a well worked score and a minute later Summerhill were rocked by a brilliant Jason Fox goal.

The Hill refused to panic and another pair of points from centre forward Ryan along with two fine efforts from the boot of Dermot McCabe put Mark Reilly's charges back in front 0-6 to 1-1 after 20 minutes.

Eoin Smith with Ronan Ryan

Smith narrowed the gap for Skryne with his second point. But again Summerhill hit back. Full forward Conor Frayne sent over before half back Eoghan Crowe pointed twice. With 22 minutes gone on the clock midfielder Ronan Ryan struck a very important goal after good work by Mark Donoghue and Crowe.

Ross Ryan and Darren Campion traded points as  Summerhill went in at the break with a healthy 1-10 to 1-3 interval lead.

Cathal Ryan  sent over his fifth point in the opening minutes of the second half. But from the 4th to the 15th minute Skryne dominated. Summerhill rearly managed an attack as the team in Blue and White hit 5 points without reply.

Cian Twomey closes in on Liam Shaw

Michael Doherty started the revival, Oisin Gryson followed suit while Campion fired over three frees and the gap was down to three 1-11 to 1-8.

Liam Shaw steadied Summerhill with a fine score while Campion could have narrowed the gap to one moments later only to see his goal bound shot hit a defender and then the crossbar to go out for a 45.

McCabe and Smith exchanged scores before team captain Ross Ryan fired over to seal the issue in Summerhill's favour.

The celebrations begin

After the game Meath Minor Board Chairman John Kavanagh presented the Delaney Cup to Summerhill captain Ross Ryan.

Summerhill: Sean Blackwell, Jack Bruton, Iarla Hughes, Cian Devlin, John Keane, Jack Davis, Eoghan Crowe, Ronan Ryan, Ross Ryan, Kyle Benson, Cathal Ryan, Mark Donoghue, Dermott McCabe, Conor Frayne, Liam Shaw. Subs: Sean Larkin, Conor McNally, Jack Quinn, Ciaran Boyce

Skryne: Dean Reddy, Cian Twomey, Eoghan Greene, Barry Clarke, Jack O'Donnell, Robbie Clarke, Michael Doherty, Oisin Gryson, Darren Fox, Darren Campion, Eoin Smith, Paddy Carpenter, Aidan Gill, Frankie Carty, Jason Fox. Subs: Colm Craige, Padraig Finnerty.

Referee Cormac Reilly

Most Read Stories