MFC Division 3 final: Killary are champions

November 24, 2014

Killary Emmets (Syddan/Castletown) celebrate with the MFC Division 3 trophy

Killary Emmets 2-13
St Patrick's 2-9

Daire Rowe showed just why he was named young footballers of the year in this MFC Division 3 final replay at Ashbourne last Sunday.

Daire produced a scintillating second half display during which he scored seven points as his side lifted their first ever minor championship crown.

The Syddan/Castletown were boosted by an early goal from Michael Fedigan and built up a 1-5 to 0-4 by the 21st minute.

They still led by that margin approaching half-time but were then stunned by a St Patrick's rally which yielded 1-2 in a three minute spell before the break.

The Stamullen sides goal came from Stephen Belton and with points from Aaron Mulvaney and Daoin Burns the east Meath outfit led 1-6 to 1-5 at the break.

Two Rowe points within a minute of the restart had Killary back in front and they tightened their grip on proceedings with another point from Mark Kelly before Andrew Kenny fisted to the net to leave it 2-8 to 1-6 on 34 minutes.

St Patrick's showed great character after that to bounce back with a goal and two points from the stylish Conor Tully to leave the sides level at 2-8 each entering the final quarter.

Rowe was the difference in the last 15 minutes as he added five further points with St Patrick's only response coming from Aaron Mulvaney.

After the match Olive Feeley daughter of the late Noel Curran presented the Curran Cup to Killary captain Jack Reid.

KILLARY EMMETS - Ben Corcoran; Kevin Carry, Jamie McMahon 0-2 (2f), Eoin Reid; Cormac Rafferty, Jack Reid, Thomas Meade; Daire Rowe 0-7 (1f), JJ O'Dea; Andrew Kenny 1-0, William Bellew 0-1, Michael Fedigan 1-0; Mark Kelly 0-3, Cathal Dardis, Brian Carroll. Subs - Eoin Lynch Duff for Carry (43), Carry for Kelly (60).

ST PATRICK'S - Ciaran Sullivan; Conor Flynn, Diarmuid Leahy, Andrew Tully; Jonathan Darcy, Stephen Belton 1-0, Jack Reddin; Cillian McDonald, Liam Nulty; Michael McNulty, Conor Tully 1-5 (2f), Andrew Kirk; Daoin Burns 0-1, Aaron Kenna, Aaron Mulvaney 0-3 (1f). Subs - Conor Harkin for Darcy (42), Padraig Nulty for McNulty (57). Jack
Brangan for D Leahy (BC 60).

REF - Colm McManus (Gaeil Colmcille)

Most Read Stories