Leinster Club IFC: Meath versus Louth Leinster Final

November 16, 2014

Ballinlough's Ken Rothwell is under pressure from Robert Barron of St James during the Leinster Club IFC semi final at Wexford Park.

Ballinlough moved another step closer to gaining provincial honours with a double scores win over St James of Wexford in Wexford Park in the Leinster Club IFC semi final.

Ballinlough Meath 0-12
St James (Wexford) 1-3

Ballinlough raced into a 0-5 to 0-0 lead after 15 minutes and looked well in control until St James got their first score a goal from Emmet Dunning. Peadar Byrne (2), Benji Smith, Ken Rothwell and Tommy McCullen accounted for the Ballinlough opening salvo. McCullen again and Colm Mallen added points and the visitors went in 0-7 to 1-1 ahead.

The second half turned out to be a scrappy affair with both teams guilty of some bad wides. Wexford senior hurler Matthew O'Hanlon narrowed the gap. Ballinlough had to wait till the 15th minute for their opening score. Ken Rothwell and then Kevin Devine extended the gap. James' only managed one more score while Ballinlogh finished with a flourish to earn their place in the provincial final.

The North Meath club have set up a final day meeting with Sean O'Mahonys of Louth. O'Mahonys defeated Eadestown of Kildare 0-10 to 1-6 in their semi final.


Most Read Stories