MFC Div 3: Killary and Pats will have to do it all again

November 08, 2014

St Patrick's Liam Nulty with Jack Reid (Killary Emmets) during the MFC Division 3 final at Pairc Tailteann.

Killary Emmets and St Patricks will have to do it all over again after playing out a very exciting draw in the LMFM sponsored Meath Minor Football Championship Division 3 final last night at Pairc Tailteann.

Killary Emmets 2-9 St Patricks 2-9

County minor Daire Rowe got the games opening score but the Castletown Syddan combination were rocked in the 7th minute when Aaron Kenna got in for a goal. But Killary responded in emphatic fashion. From the resulting kickout Rowe gained possession and raced through the Pats defence, passed to Brian Carroll and the corner foward found the back of the Stamullen net. Jamie McMahon followed up with their 2nd point from a free. But it was the Stamullen men who dominated the next 10 minutes. Team captain Liam Nulty kicked a fine point, John Curtis landed another before they took the lead with a Conor Tully goal. Rowe and McMahon responded with points but St Pats went in at the break 2-3 to 1-4 ahead.

The game took another twist in the opening minutes of the second half. Once again Rowe was at the centre of things. The No 11 was fouled in the Stamullen square and he duly dispatch the penalty beyond keeper Ciaran O'Sullivan. The combination side held a 2-6 to 2-5 lead midway through the half before St pats enjoyed a purple patch. Aaron Mulvany, who was a real thorn in the side of the Killary defence landed two fine points and another from Nulty put them 2 up. But once again Killary fought back and scores from that combination again Rowe and McMahon tied the game up once more.

With normal time up Conor Tully converted a free to give Pats what looked like the winner but with the last play of the game Killary worked the ball foward and earned a free which was converted by Rowe to set up the replay.

Killary Emmets: Ben Corcoran, Thomas Meade, Jamie McMahon 0-3, Eoin Reid, William Bellew, Jack Reid, Kevin Carry, Dylan Smith, JJ O'Dea, Andrew Kenny, Daire Rowe 1-6, Michael Fedigan, Conor Weldon, Cathal Dardis, Brian Carroll 0-1.
Subs: Mark kelly, Cormac Raffert, Eoin Lynch Duff, Dylan Gargan, Aaron Sheerin black card replacement for Eoin Reid.

St Patricks: Ciaran O'Sullivan, Andrew Kirk, Cillian McDonald, Stephen Belton, Jack Reddin, Diarmuid Leahy, Andy Tully, John Curtis 0-1, Hohathon Darcy, Conor Tully 1-1, Liam Nulty 0-2, Ryan Broderick, Conor Harkin, Aaron Kenna 1-1, Aaron Mulvaney 0-4.
Subs: Michael McNulty, Padraig Nulty, Conor Flynn

Referee Padraig Coyle

Most Read Stories