HL Div 1 Final: 'Jacksey' strikes late to stun Kildalkey

October 18, 2014

Kiltale's Iarla Hughes with Paddy Conneely Kildalkey during the Division 1 hurling league final at Lomans Park.

Fresh from his heroics last Sunday in the senior hurling championship decider Jack Regan was at it again as his late late point earned Kiltale a dramatic win over Kildalkey in the Division 1 hurling league final.

Kiltale 4-8
Kildalkey 1-16

Kildalkey will wonder how they lost this game as they were in control for most of it. Kiltale started without a host of their Jubilee Cup winning team and the celebrations looked to have taken its toll on them.

Kildalkey led at the break 0-11 to 1-2 and could even afford the luxury of a missed penalty. Paddy Conneely (3), Derek Doran (2), Sean Heavey (2), Padraig Keogh (2), Gary Watters (1) and Francid Doran (1) accounted for the Kildalkey first half tally. Kiltale were very sluggish in the opening 30 but were given a life line when Jack Regan's free was finished to the net by Chris Reilly.

Kildalkey were further ahead after five minutes of the second half with an Enda Fitzgerald goal. Pat O'Hallorans men held a 1-15 to 1-5 lead with 15 minutes left. Kiltale had introduced Davy Donoghue, James Kelly and Mark O'Sullivan at the break and these three were beginning to turn the tide Kiltales way. Kevin Ryan got in for a goal, O'Sullivan followed with a point. Ross Ryan got their third goal with three minutes remaining to leave 3 points in it. Then James Kelly got in on the goal scoring act and the match was all square. Just when it seemed extra time was on the cards Jack Regan sent over a monster of a point and the Division 1 league cup was heading out to Kiltale.

After the game Dominic Reilly presented the Division 1 HL Cup to Kiltale captain Pter Durnin. Both Durnin and Reilly paid a glowing tribute to Kildalkey manager pat O'Halloran. This was his last game in charge of the 'Village'. O'Halloran led Kildalkey to that memorable 3 in a row.

Kiltale scorers: Jack Regan 0-6, Kevin Ryan, Ross Ryan, Chris Reilly and James Kelly 1-0 each, Mark O'Sullivan and Stephen Donoghue 0-1 each.

Kildalkey scorers: Paddy Conneely 0-5, Enda Fitzgerald 1-1, Derek Doran 0-3, Sean Heavey and Padraig Keogh 0-2 each, Francis Doran, Gary Watters and Martin Healy 0-1 each.

Most Read Stories