Duleek's winning run comes to an end

July 12, 2004
Result: Duleek 0-09 Castletown 2-05 Castletown ended Duleek's unbeaten run in this year's Intermediate championship with an injury time penalty giving them a two-point victory. Duleek should have had the game sown up long before then however, and despite having the majority of possession, they couldn't put away their north Meath opponents. Duleek registered the first two points of the game with scores from Aodhagán Byrne and Peter Curran. Castletown replied with two points of their own, one of which was a powerful shot that could have been a goal. Then on twenty minutes, a high ball that landed in the Duleek box, dropped through the keepers hands into the net. Duleek did get a score at the end of the half with a long-range effort from Byrne to leave the deficit at just one point at the interval. Half time: Duleek 0-04 Castletown 1-02 Duleek started the second half well playing with fourteen men - halfback Crosby dismissed just before the break. In the first ten minutes they missed a couple of goal opportunities. McGinley blasted the ball over the bar from close range and then Curran saw a shot rebound off the crossbar. The Castletown backs resorted to fouling in this second period and Curran duly obliged with three pointed frees. When Paul Martin put another free over in the twenty-second minute, Duleek were two points ahead. However, Castletown battled back, and reduced the deficit to a point in with four minutes remaining. The Duleek team, who had sixteen wides, were on the back foot in the final few minutes. Three minutes into injury time, the Duleek defence were caught out with a long ball and with men tracking back, a collision occurred. The referee pointed to the spot and the Castletown forward, avoiding the safe option of a draw, duly converted to give them the valuable two points. Full-time: Duleek 0-09 - Castletown 2-05 Duleek- Ricky Nolan, Des Teeling, Ciaran Byrne, Kevin Smith, David Crosby, Paul Martin, Gordon Hynes, Tony Cunningham, Karl McDonnell, Peter Curran(0-06, 5f), Aodhagán Byrne, Conal McGinley(0-04), Bryan Tallon, James Deveroux, Kenny McDonnell. Subs: Bryan Cudden for McGinley, Michael Johnson for Deveroux

Most Read Stories