IFC: Ballinabrackey overcome Kilmainham

April 13, 2014

Good win for Ballinabrackey over Kilmainham in the opening round of the Meath IFC at Lomans Park Trim
Ballinabrackey opened their group A intermediate championship with a five point win over newly promoted Kilmainham in Trim on Saturday evening. Playing against the stiff breeze in the opening half Ballinabrackey registered their first point through Stephen Donoghue with it looking like the Bracks were settled and ready. However it was Kilmainham who went on to dominate the opening half.

From placed balls and open play they seemed flawless in front of goal tagging on eight points with Ballinabrackey only managing another two scores leaving a five point game at the change of ends 0-08 to 0-03.

Shooting into the town goals Ballinabrackey upped the tempo and began to run at the Kilmainham defence leading to the first two scores of the half. Damien Carroll and Paddy lee began to dominate midfield and with Chris O'Connor a constant thorn in the Kilmainham side it was looking good for the South Meath side. The killer blow came when after a swift move the ball was in the Kilmainham net via Neville Brazil with a well taken left footed effort.

Micheal Newman was introduced in hoping to weather the storm however the Bracks defence swarmed around him and the kilmainham players when any scoring chance was created. With Danny Quinn punching to the back of the net for the Bracks second goal the result was never in doubt. Ballinabrackey held on and secured their first two points on the group A table.

Team: G Crehan, D Thompson, R Kearney, K Darby, D Kennedy. N Judge, V Mooney, P Lee, D Carroll, S Donoghue, C O'Connor, N Brazil, M Kearney, D Quinn, S Curry. Subs A Munnelly, E Daly, S Dunning, K Coyne, B Byrne, D Coyne, G Bannon, K Swords, A Quinn, M Kavanagh, N Thompson, K Quinn, D Finn

Kilmainham 0-10
Ballinabrackey 2-9

Despite trailing by five points at the break, Ballinabrackey recovered well to claim victory over Kilmainham in Group A of the Intermediate championship in Trim on Saturday evening.

Playing with aid of the stiff breeze Kilmainham started well with some good points from Gavin Butler and Gerard Morgan and led at half time 08- to 0-3.

The concession of two second half goals from which they never recovered meant Ballinabrackey secured their first points of the championship.

Best for Kilmainham were; Michael Mahon, Seanie Mahon, Denis Newman, Paddy Hennigan, Gavin Butler & Gerard Morgan.

Kilmainham; Kevin Jordan, Ros Mooney Mark Fallon Joe Mahon; Michael Mahon Seanie Mahon Denis Newmam; Barry Lynch Trevor Lynch; Paddy Hennigan 0-1 Shane Morgan 0-1 Harry Newman; Gavin Butler 0-4 Gerard Morgan 0-4 ( 2 frees) Dean Peppard. Subs; Michael Newman for Dean Peppadr, Richard Brady for Mark Fallon, Shane Butler for Trevor Lynch.

Referee; Liam O Brien, Duleek-Bellewstown.

Most Read Stories