IFC: Ballivor worthy winners over Carnaross

April 12, 2014

Paddy Nugent Carnaross and Ballivor's Clayton Keegan go to ground during the Meath IFC game at Pairc Tailteann
Carnaross 1-7
Ballivor 2-16

The opening round of the Intermediate Championship ended in a disappointing defeat for Carnaross against worthy winners Ballivor.

The Ballivor men played with the strong breeze in the opening period and took full advantage to open up a 0-5 to 0-0 lead after just ten minutes. John L McGee got the opening point for Carnaross after twelve minutes and repeated the act a minute later to reduce the margin to three points. However, Ballivor continued their good form and added two more points before netting the games first goal ten minutes before the break, giving them an eight point lead. Carnaross replied with a much needed goal from the boot of Dermot McGee who also added a point shortly afterwards. Two Ballivor points left them with a six point half-time lead, 1-9 to 1-3.

Carnaross got the good start they needed with a point each from Patrick Nugent and John L McGee in the early stages of the second-half. However, they were dealt a blow after Ballivor took advantage of a rebound of the upright to get their second goal of the game. Another Ballivor point extended their lead once more but Carnaross continued to battle back on and reduced the margin with further points from John L McGee and Niall McDonnell. Carnaross were then awarded a huge opportunity to get right back into the game when John L McGee was taken down for a penalty with fifteen minutes to go.

However, luck was not on his side as the Ballivor keeper did very well with a double save from McGee. Ballivor added a point straight away and instead of a three point game, Carnaross found themselves seven points behind. This proved to be the deciding moment of the game as Ballivor went on to add six more points without reply before the final whistle for a fully deserved victory.

Carnaross: Shane McNiffe; Tomás Plunkett, Ian Donoghue, Peter Carpenter; Eamonn Comaskey; Patrick Nugent (0-1), Liam Brogan; Charles Brogan, Brian Comaskey; Peter Mullan, John L McGee (0-4), Stephen Flattery; Shane Casserly, Thomas Nugent, Dermot McGee (1-1); Subs: John Carpenter for Shane Casserly; Niall McDonnell (0-1) for Liam Brogan; Pierce Fleming for Eamonn Comaskey;

Most Read Stories