MFC Div 2: Superior Trim claim title

November 23, 2013

Trim's James Cullen gains possession against Killary Emmets in the MFC Division 2 final at Skryne. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS GAME CLICK HERE
A brilliant second half display by Trim earned them the Meath Minor Football Championship Division 2 (13 a side) title in frosty conditions at Skryne

Trim 2-14
Killary Emmets 1-5

The opening half was a fairly even contest with both teams have their period of dominance. Trim controlled the opening 15 minutes at the end of which they led 0-6 to 0-1. Eoin O'Connor opened the scoring. Daire Rowe replied for Killary before Trim rattled off five points, from Harry Purcell (2), Cathal Birmingham, James Cullen and Robert Burke. The Emmets fought back and points from Jamie Mcmahon, Sean Clare and Rowe reduced the gap. With ten minutes remaining Trim captain Kevin Nally was at the end of a fine move to get the games opening goal. The Syddan Castletown combination responded immediatly when Rowe scored a fine individual goal. Trim went in at the break with a three point lead 1-7 to 1-4.

Jamie McMahon narrowed the gap with a point from a free in the opening minutes of the second half but from there on Trim took over. The Town lads held their opponents scoreless for the remainder of the game and added 1-7 to their tally. O'Connor got their second gaol after ten minutes. Points from O'Connor, James Cullen (2) and the brilliant Daire Lynch (4) gave Trim a comfortable win in the end.

After the game Meath Minor Board Chairman John Kavanagh presented the MFC Division 2 Cup to Trim captain Kevin Nally.

Trim: Conal McGreana, Rory McGrath, Luke Moran, Dean Egan, Kevin Nally 1-0, Cathal Bermingham 0-1, David Rennicks, James Foley, Robert Burke 0-1, Colm Moriarty, James Cullen 0-3, Harry Purcell 0-2, Eoin O'Connor 1-3, Jamie Hackett, Daire Lynch 0-4.
Subs: Shane callaghan, Brian McKeown, Eric Dunne, Peter Farrelly, Cian Downes.

Killary Emmets: Ben Corcoean, James Duff, Jack Reid, Mark Fedigan, Kevin carry, Kevin Treanor, William Bellew, Diarmuid Rowe, Ronan Mooney, Jamie McMahon 0-2, Daire Rowe 1-2, Andrew Kenny, Stephen Hoey, Sean Clare 0-1, Ross Blaney.
Subs: Michael Fedigan, Liam Sheridan

Referee Martin Griffin

Most Read Stories