JFC D: 'Wood' cut down Yellow Furze

September 28, 2013

Kilmainhamwood's Stephen Smith gets to the ball ahead of Seneschalstown's Robbie Mullen during the Meath Junior D FC final at Sean Newman Park
Kilmainhamwood defeated Seneschalstown to win the Meath Junior D Football Championship in ideal conditions at Sean Newman Park Bohermeen.

Kilmainhamwood 3-8
Seneschalstown 0-10

In the end it was the Kilmainhamwood's experience that won the day. The winners squad included players with All Ireland, Leinster, Ulster and Meath SFC medals. After the game John Kavanagh presented the Junior D Cup to Kilmainhamwood captain Tommy Owens and in his acceptance speech Owens dedicated the win to the late Paddy McGee, father of the great Kilmainhamwood and Meath servant Ray, who passed away during the week.

Seneschalstown settle quickly and were detrermined to atone for their B league final lost to Ballivor a week earlier. Three points in a row from Sean Doyle, Aled Igman and Robbie Mullen gave them a great start after 12 minutes but Mullen's point proved to be their last score of the half. Kilmainhamwood began to grow into the game a kicked five points before the break. David Russell got their opening two scores before Ray McGee found his range to land the last three points of the half and Kilmainhamwood led at half time 0-5 to 0-3.

Mullen closed the gap for Seneschalstown with the opening point of the second half from the throw in. But with his first touch of the McGee had the ball in the Seneschalstown net and the lead was out to four. The Yellow Furze men responded with three fine points through Igman, Terry Maguire and Doyle before they were rocked with another Wood goal.Ray Madden was upended in the square and Larry McCormack converted the penalty. James Gillic and McGee traded points before Igman raised two more white flags and the lead was down to three, 2-7 to 0-10. Kilmainhamwood finished the stronger. David Russell pointed before the same player netted their third goal and the Junior D championship cup was heading back to the north Meath village.

Kilmainwood: Johnny Carolan, Emmet Roach, Stephen Smith, Mark Kiernan, Ronald Owens, Ray Madden, David Dolan, Gary Yorke, Aiden Crosbie, David Russell 1-4, Ciaran Shankey, Damien Russell, Ray McGee 1-4, Francie Owens, Tommy Owens.
Subs: Larry McCormack 1-0, Colm Gilcreest, Ray Cunningham

Seneschalstown: Shane Corbally, Mark Keating, Mick Beggy, Shane Gargan, Mark Fox, Terry Maguire 0-1, Sean Doyle 0-2, Tean Cummins, Aled Igman, Danny McLoughlin, James Gillic 0-1, Robbie Mullen 0-2, Tony McDonnell, Darren Sheehy, Tommy Duggan.
Subs: Martin Clarke, Darragh Keogh

Referee Dessie Smyth St Ultans

Most Read Stories