SFC: Seneschalstown get first win

April 26, 2013

Seneschalstown's Damien Sheridan keeps possession despite the best efforts of Moynalvey's Brendan Dixon, Stephen Donoghue and Darren Brennan
Seneschalstown 0-16
Moynalvey 0-11

Seneschalstown overcame the challenge off Moynalvey in round 2 of the hoganstand.com Meath SFC in Lomans Park Trim.

Former All Ireland medal winner with Armagh, Andy McCann, got his first championship win as Senescahlstown manager. The Yellow Furze men drew with Duleek Bellewstown in the opening round. A strong first half performance was the platform. Ian Kearney's charges have now lost their opening two games.

Seneschalstown dominated the opening half at the end of which they held a 0-12 to 0-3 lead. Damien Sheridan got the opening score of the game and Peter Waters quickly followed suit. Mark O'Sullivan levelled matters with a brace of pointed frees before Seneschalstown took complete control. A succession of points from Shane Clarke (2), Stephen Finnegan, Waters, Damien and Joe Sheridan (2) pushed the 2009 Keegan Cup winners 0-9 to 0-3 ahead. Finnegan closed out the half with three excellent scores. Moynalvey were unlucky not to have been closer to their opponents at the break, as a rasping shot at goal from Ken Hyland rebounded off the cross bar two minutes before the half time whistle.

Despite been nine points in arrears Moynalvey came out a different team in the second half. Driven on by the outstanding Padraig Harnan and Mark O'Sullivan, last years Intermediate winners set about reducing the lead having made numerous positional switches and introduced substitutes Donal Smith and Brian Harnan. Barry O'Keeffe and Ciaran Ennis fired over in the opening five minutes, Clarke replied for Seneschalstown before O'Sullivan kicked five points in a row to narrow the gap to four. Joe Sheridan steadied the Seneschalstown ship with a point from a 45 before substitute James Conlon fired over their last point. Johnny Donoghue closed out the scoring with a fine effort from a free.

Best for the winners were goalkeeper Davy Lyons, Joe Crowley and Gerry Sheridan in defence and Stephen Finnegan in attack while Padraig Harnan, Mark O'Sullivan and Barry O'Keeffe were the pick of the bunch for Moynalvey.

Seneschalstown scorers: Stephen Finnegan (0-4), Joe Sheridan, Damien Sheridan and Shane Clarke (0-3) each, Peter Waters (0-2), James Conlon (0-1).

Moynalvey: O. Regan, R. Kiernan, P. Weldon, B. O'Keeffe (0-1), D. Brennan, P. Harnan, B. Dixon, S. Donoghue, J. Donoghue (0-1), M. O'Sullivan (0-8), P. Donoghue, D. Donoghue, J. Weldon, K. Hyland, C. Ennis (0-1). Subs used: D. Smith for P. Donoghue, B. Harnan for J. Weldon, J. Kelly for Hyland, D. Treacy for Ennis, R. Ryan for O'Keeffe.

Referee Patrick Coyle

Most Read Stories