MFC: Bracks defeat Nobber to claim the Div 5 title

October 27, 2012

Michael Kearney raises the Cup as his team mates celebrate their MFC Division 5 final success at Lomans Park Trim. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS GAME CLICK HERE
Ballinabrackey 2-10
Nobber 1-11

Inspired by Evan Daly Ballinabrackey claimed the Meath Minor Football Championship Division 5 title by defeating Nobber by two points in ideal conditions at Lomans Park Trim. The accurate Daly scored an 2-6 of his teams total. Dale Larkin was equally impressive for Nobber chipping in with eight points.

Ballinabrackey were first on the scoreboard when Daly pointed a free. Nobber replied when Dale Larkin sent over a 45. The game was evenly balanced midway through the half until Daly converted a penalty to put the Offaly border side 1-4 to 0-3 ahead. The teams shared four points (Daly and Daire Kennedy for 'The Bracks' and two more for Nobbers Larkin) to leave the half time score Ballinabrackey 1-6 Nobber 0-5.

Despite taking to the field with no subs Nobber showed great spirit in the second half. Larry McEntee's charges closed the gap to two with fine scores from Dale Larkin and Stephen O'Brien. Ballinabrackey got the next two points from Daly and Kennedy but Nobber replied with two more through Sean Meade and Larkin. The Bracks began to dominate and this was reflected on the scoreboard. Points from David Finn and Daly were separated by Daly's second goal and Ballinabrackey led 2-10 to 0-9 with five minutes left. But Nobber finished with a flourish. Larkin pointed twice before Ben Sheridan finished to the net to leave only two between the sides. Time ran out for the North Meath men and Ballinabrackey held on to win 2-10 to 1-11.

After the game Ultan Fitzpatrick presented the MFC Division 5 Cup to Ballinabrackey captain Michel Kearney.

Ballinabrackey: David Cooney, Aaron Gannon, Dean Mooney, Keith Quinn, David Finn (0-1), Shane Dunning, Michael Kearney (0-1), Daire Kennedy (0-2), Niall Thompson, Evan Daly (2-6), Howard Monds, Patrick Lee, Patrick Donoghue.

Nobber: Ryan Smith Hughes, Barry Cassidy, Eanna Fagan, Cathal Cassidy, Ian Brady, Dara Cassidy, Stephen O'Brien (0-1), Dale Larkin (0-8), Sam Ogungbe, Dean Halpin, Ben Sheridan (1-0), Tony McEntee, Sean Meade (0-2).

Referee Ciaran Flynn

Most Read Stories