MFC: Division 4 title for Dunboyne Kilbride B's

October 08, 2012

Dunboyne Kilbride's Dylan Ryan is determined to get away from Killary Emmets JJ Meade during the Meath MFC Div 4 decider at Bective. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS GAME CLICK HERE
Dunboyne Kilbride B 1-13
Killary Emmets 1-8

Dunboyne Kilbride's second team left Bective yesterday morning with the Meath Minor Football Championship Division 4 title in tow after posting a five point win over Killary Emmets.

Dunboyne Kilbride started in whirlwind fashion and posted four points, without reply, in the opening ten minutes through Daire Boylan, Simon Clarke, Alex Yourell and Cathal Meehan. After the slow start Killary finally got into the game with a Daire Roe point. The Syddan Castletown combination dominated the remainder of the half and outscored Dunboyne 1-4 to 0-3. Daire Roe and Kevin Traynor were central to this dominance. Roe raced through the Dunboye defence for the games first goal and Killary led at the break 1-5 to 0-7.

The Dunboyne defence came to grips with Daire Roe in the second half. Clarke and Meehan got the opening two points and from there on it was all Dunboyne Kilbride. A high ball was fisted to the Killary net by Daire Boylan and the winners held a 1-9 to 1-6 advantage after 15 minutes. Further points from the impressive Clarke (2), Boylan and Craig Doyle pushed Dunboyne Kilbride clear and set them up for a comfortable win. Killary's second half scores came from Roe, Jamie McMahon and Traynor.

After the game Meath Minor Board Chairman John Kavanagh presented the MFC Div 4 Cup to Dunboyne Kilbride captain Simon Clarke.

Dunboyne Kilbride scorers: Daire Boylan (1-3), Simon Clarke (0-4), Cathal Meehan (0-3), Alex Yourell (0-2), Craig Doyle (0-1)

Dunboyne/Kilbride - Gavin Ryan, Sean O'Neill, Philip Watters, Killian Smith, Eamonn J Gilligan, Calvin McMahon, Dylan Ryan, Josh Gough, Cathal Meehan (0.03), Simon Clarke (0.04), Alex Yourell (0.01), Daire Boylan (1.04), Ian Hughes, Liam Courtney, Cormac Ahern, Ciaran Skehill, Craig Doyle, Ronan Fitzmaurice, John Finnerty, Mark Daly. Subs Finnerty for Gough (25mins), Gough for Courtney Doyle for Hughes (45mins) and Daly for Finnerty (45 mins)

Killar Emmets scorers: Daire Roe (1-4), Jamie McMahon and Kevin Traynor (0-2) each

Referee Patrick Neilis

Most Read Stories