SFC: Dunshaughlin edges out by Tones

September 10, 2012

Dunshaughlin's Fergus Toolan

Dunshaughlin finished their 2012 campaign with an admirable performance going down by two points to already qualified Wolfe Tones.

Playing with a stiff wind in the opening half Dunshaughlin started much the brighter. Two Fergus Toolan frees together with points from Martin Reilly and Tadgh O'Dushlaine gave them a four point lead after 5 minutes. But the Kilberry men then seized the initiative and five successive points gave them a one point lead before two Cathal O'Dwyer frees restored Dunshaughlin's lead in the 28th minute. Wolfe Tones then goaled in the 29th minute. Conor Devereux responded with a fine point but another Wolfe Tones arrived in injury time. There was still time for O'Dwyer to reduce the margin to three points at the break - 2-5 to 0-8.

Goalkeeper Stephen Clusker was injured in the lead up to the first Wolfe Tones and was forced to retire at the interval. Anthony Johnson took over between the sticks and indeed looked extremely comfortable there in the second half. Wolfe Tones extended their lead immediately after the break. Devereux cancelled this out before another Tones point was cancelled out by a terrific Tommy Johnson point. A free from Toolan was then followed by an O'Dwyer point in the 45thminute to put only a point between the sides. However Tones got a strangle hold on proceedings and five successive points gave them a six point cushion with five minutes remaining. Tommy Johnson then had a rasper of a shot tipped over the bar by the goalkeeper. Reilly pointed a free and then Ray Maloney advanced and fired low to the net to put the bare minimum between the sides deep into injury time. The Black and Ambers couldn't manage an equaliser and a free from Wolfe Tones closed the scoring.

Best for Dunshaughlin were Ken McTigue, Fergus Toolan, Denis Kealy, Conor Devereux and Tommy Johnson

Dunshaughlin - Stephen Clusker, Alastar Doyle, Ken McTigue, Fearghal Delaney, Tadgh O'Dushlaine 0-1, Caoimhin King, Fergus Toolan 0-3 (3f), Paddy McHale, Ray Maloney 1-0, Niall Murphy, Denis Kealy, Conor Devereux 0-2, Tommy Johnson 0-2, Martin Reilly 0-2 (1f), Cathal O'Dwyer 0-4 (2f). Substitutes - Anthony Johnson for Clusker, Ciaran Hoary for Murphy

Most Read Stories