IFC: Three defeats for Carnaross

August 13, 2012

Charles Brogan (Carnaross) moves in on Ballinabrackey's Damien Carroll during the Meath IFC game at Kildalkey
Carnaross 0-4
Ballinabrackey 2-8

Carnaross made it three championship defeats from as many games against Ballinabrackey played in Kildalkey on Sunday.

Two points in the opening minute gave Ballinabrackey an early lead which they never lost for the rest of the game. They added another point before Carnaross opened their account with a John L McGee free in the ninth minute. This proved to be the only first-half score for Carnaross as Ballinabrackey, with further scores from Danny Quinn and Damien Carroll, went on to take a 1-6 to 0-1 lead at half-time.

Both sides exchanged a point each after the restart with John L McGee pointing for Carnaross. Ballinabrackey hit their second goal of the game with fifteen minutes remaining to open up an eleven point lead. John L McGee converted two late frees for Carnaross but Ballinabrackey added another point to their winning tally.

Ballinabrackey: John Curry, Michael Kearney, Nicky Judge, Kevin Darby, Ray Kearney, Chris O Connor, Derek Flynn, Finbar Bannon, Damien Carroll, Seamus Curry, Trevor Bannon, Paddy Kenny, Neville Brazil, Danny Quinn, Vinny Mooney. Subs : Daire Kennedy, Joe Bannon, Aidan Coffey, Brian Lucey, Brendan Glennon, Brendan Byrne, Paddy Lee, Aidan Flynn, Colm McNally, Paddy Munnelly, Gordon Bannon

Carnaross: Cillian Comaskey; Peter Carpenter, Eamonn Comaskey, Ian Donoghue; Shane Casserly, Patrick Nugent, Cian Gillic; Thomas Nugent, Charles Brogan; John Carpenter, Paul Donoghue, Rory O'Connor; Niall McDonnell, John L McGee (0-4), Liam Brogan; Subs: John Plunkett for Paul Donoghue; Damian Smith for Rory O'Connor;

Most Read Stories