SFC: Pat's win low scoring east-Meath derby

April 29, 2012

Niall Mooney St Pats
St.Patrick's 0-06
Duleek Bellewstown 0-04

St.Patrick's got the better of Duleek/Bellewstown in a dour low-scoring hoganstand.com SFC match in Ashbourne on Saturday night.

Playing against the wind St. Pat's opened the scoring after five minutes with a 14 yard free from Niall Mooney after Duleek/Bellewstown goalkeeper Ricky Nolan was penalised for handling the ball on the ground just outside the small square. Duleek/Bellewstown replied two minutes later with a free of their own and then it was the nineteenth before Niall Mooney tapped over a close in free for the Pat's after Donal Landy was fouled. Niall Mooney added a good point from play before Darren Mills swung over a fine left-footed effort for Duleek/Bellewstown. St.Patrick's were happy to go into the half-time interval leading 0-03 to 0-02 after Duleek/Bellewtown had dominated for long spells and squandered numerous scoring opportunities.

Duleek/Bellewstown were quick out of the traps in the second-half scoring in the first minute to level things up. As the scrappy play from both sides continued scores were hard to come by and it was the 39th minutes before Niall Mooney converted another free to put Pat's back in the lead. Pat's corner-forward Donal Landy then popped over a point from a tight angle and then five minutes later he knocked over a great score from the left wing to put Pat's three points to the good with just over ten minutes to go. Duleek/Bellewstown got a point back in the 54th minute and as both sides struggled to find scores they almost stole it in added time in dramatic fashion when the ball dropped to an unmarked man on the back post but his low shot was blocked on the line and rebounded to safety. It was a scrappy, messy game from start to finish from both sides but St.Pat's just came out on top on a scoreline of St.Patrick's 0-06 Duleek/Bellewstown 0-04.

Best for the Pat's were Darren Hagan, Ray Russell and Andy Reilly.

St.Patrick's - Eabhan Connolly, David Stafford, Shane McGinty, Andy Reilly, Ray Russell, Darren Hagan, David McQuillan, Keith Whearty, Finian Everard, Barry Mooney, Barry Campbell, Niall Whearty, Donal Landy (0-2), Niall Mooney (0-4, 3f), Daithi Whyte. Subs: Brian Calvey for Everard 29', Andy Mooney for N Whearty 49', Shane Landy for B Mooney 58', Ciaran Calvey for Campbell 62'.

Most Read Stories