SFC: Yellow Furze defeat Blackhall

April 21, 2012

Blackhall Gaels Sean Whelan is under pressure from Seneschalstown's Damien Sheridan and Ciaran Mackin during the hoganstand.com Meath SFC at Dunsany.TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FOR THIS GAME CLICK HERE
Seneschalstown got their hoganstand.com Meath SFC campaign off to a winning start with a hard earned victory over a very determined Blackhall Gaels at sunny Dunsany.

Seneschalstown 1-10
Blackhall Gaels 1-7

Blackhall's Sean Whelan got the opening score of the game but Seneschalstown replied with five unanswered points through Stephen Finnegan, Brian Sheridan, Shane Clarke and Bryan Clarke (2) to lead five points to one after twenty minutes. A point from Donnacha Tobin and two more from Whelan left the Batterstown/Kilcloon combination 0-8 to 0-4 in arrears at the break.

Blackhall dominated the early exchanges of the second half. Again Whelan kicked their opening score. Brian Sheridan replied with a pointed free. Seneschaltown keeper Davy Lyons produced a brilliant save at the feet of Tadgh Brosnan before Whelan kicked the best score of the day to leave it 0-9 to 0-7. With ten minutes remaining a sweeping move upfield by Seneschalstown resulted in corner back Niall Groome finishing to the net. From the kick out Donnacha Tobin raced through the Seneschalstown defence and his pass found Brosnan who calmly placed the ball beyond Lyons. The Gaels were back in the game but despite having most of the ball failed to score for the remaining five minutes while Seneschalstown were content to run down the clock.

Seneschalstown: David Lyons, Niall Groome (1-0), Gerry Sheridan, James Byrne, Cormac Noonan, Mark Carey, Paul Carey, Robert Ruddy, Damien Sheridan, Adam Gleeson (0-2), Ciaran Mackin, Bryan Clarke (0-1), Shane Clarke (0-1), Stephen Finnegan (0-2), Brian Sheridan (0-4)

Blackhall Gaels: Thomas Dalton, Stephen Morris, Dermot Dalton, Declan Dalton, John Kelly, George Beirne, Dan Carty, Johnny Myler, Donnacha Tobin (0-1), Sean Whelan (0-6), Alan Nestor, Paddy O'Brien, Denis Beirne, Noel OHora, Tadgh Brosnan (1-0).

Referee Seamus O'Connor

Most Read Stories