SFC: Skryne beaten by in-form Simonstown

April 15, 2012

Skryne's Ciaran Lenehan and David Ryan close in on Simonstown's Padraig McKeever during the hoganstand.com Meath SFC at Pairc Tailteann
Simonstown 1 - 9
Skryne 0 - 8

In what must have been the poorest display by a Skryne team for some time in Senior Championship football, the Tara men were beaten by Simonnstown in Pairc Tailteann on Sunday. In a low scoring encounter Skryne were first to score after five minutes this was cancelled out almost immediately by the Navenmen who also when a point ahead after 12 minutes. Mark Battersby equalized for Skryne on 13 minutes. Then a series of disaster befell Skryne with the game approaching half time. First they lost the influential Paddy Fox with a shoulder injury on 28 minutes. Then Simonstown scored 1-2 inside a two minute period opening up a five point lead, with Shane Barry getting the goal a minute before the break. Skryne did get the final score of the half but were trailing by 4 points, 1 - 4 to 0 - 3 at the short whistle.

On the resumption Skryne pulled back a point through Ian Davis but Simonstown restored their advantage immediately. James Hegarty put another over but this was countered by three on the trot from Simonstown leaving the score after 50 minutes at Simonstown 1 - 8 to Skryne's 0 - 5. Skryne however dug deep to score the next three points and get within a goal. They thought they had the ball over Simonstown's line but no green flag was displayed by the official. In injury time Simonstown's Sean Tobin fired the last point of the game leaving the final score at Simonstown 1 - 9, Skryne 0 - 8.

Simonstown - R. Duffy; S. McGivney, I. O'Rourke, S. O'Reilly; C. Kenny, J. Lyons, N. McMahon; D. Gaffney, S. Tobin (0-4, 2f) ; M. McCabe (0-1), S. Kenny, S. Barry (1-1); P. McKeever, W. McCarthy (0-3, 2f), S. Moran. Subs - P. Meade for McCabe,, H. Traynor for Moran.

Skryne: Felim O'Rourke, Tomas McKeown, Martin Mulvany, Declan Morley, Paddy Fox , Ciaran Lenihan, James Hegarty (1), David Ryan, David McGogdrick, Kevin Reilly (1), Trevor Giles, Ian Davis (4), Kevin Mulvany, Paddy O'Rourke, Mark Battersby (2), Subs - James Looby for Fox (27min)

Most Read Stories