SFC: Dunboyne stun Dunshaughlin

April 13, 2012

Dunboyne's Gary Watters closes in on Dunshaughlin's Anthony Johnston during the opening round of the hoganstand.com Meath SFC at Ashbourne (both clubs changed their jerseys on the night)
St. Peter's 3-12
Dunshaughlin 0-8

Last year's beaten finalists Dunshaughlin came a cropper to a stunning second half display from Dunboyne in this opening round hoganstand.com Meath SFC tie in Ashbourne.

This local derby looked like going to the wire when Dunshaughlin led by 0-8 to 1-3 at half time, with Gary Watters grabbing the Dunboyne goal.

However, it was one way traffic after the break with Dunshaughlin failing to trouble the scoreboard keeper. Dunboyne added 2-9 to their tally with further goals from Gerard Robinson and Donal Lenihan.

Dunboyne - J O' Connor, C. Finn, D. Sweeney, J. Meehan, C. Clarke, T. O' Connor, G. Timoney, S. McGarrell 0-1, C. Berrigan 0-3, B. Comer, G. Robinson 1-0, D. Gallagher, S. Moran 0-3, G. Watters 1-1, D. Lenihan 1-2. Subs - D. Clarke 0-1 for G. Timoney, G. Gallagher for S. Moran, M. Convey 0-1 for G. Robinson.

Dunshaughlin - Ronan Gogan, Ciaran Hoary, Kenny McTigue, Alastar Doyle, Anthony Johnson, Caoimhin King, Denis Kealy, John Crimmins, Ray Maloney, Fergus Toolan 0-1, Trevor Dowd 0-3, Conor Devereux 0-1, Tommy Johnson, Tadgh O'Dushlaine 0-1, Cathal O'Dwyer 0-2. Substitutes - Eoin Hagarty for A Johnson, Fearghal Delaney for Hoary.

Most Read Stories