MFC 3: Final triumph for Vincent's/Curraha

September 26, 2011

St Vincents/Curraha celebrate with the MFC Div 3 Cup at Skryne
St. Vincent's / Curraha 4-9
St. Patrick's 1-10

St. Vincent's/Curraha won the Division 3 Minor Championship with a great win over neighbours St. Patrick's in an exciting game in Skryne.

Captain Ciaran O'Hanrahan was the star man as he scored a hat trick of goals for the winners, while James McEntee and Mark Crawley were superb in the halfback line. Good performances also came from Conor Joyce who was solid at cornerback and Shane O'Brien who worked tirelessly to help out at both ends of the field.

The game was tighter than the scoreline may suggest, as St. Patrick's were one point up with just 7 minutes remaining in the game, but St. Vincent's / Curraha finished well with an unanswered 2-3 before the end.

The game was level at 0-3 each after twenty minutes following entertaining end-to-end action. Neil Shortall, John Mangan and James McEntee all opened their accounts. Then O'Hanrahan stormed in and blasted the ball home to put his side ahead. Eoin Hand and McEntee added points while St Patrick's kicked 3 of their own, leaving the score at 1-5 to 0-6 at half time.

St. Patrick's started well in the second period, scoring 1-1 within 3 minutes. Shortall's second point helped to re settle the Ardcath Curraha outfit before O'Hanrahan carried the ball in and finished low past the goalkeeper for his second. The Julianstown and Stamullen combination then piled on the pressure and won a penalty after a player was pulled to the ground. This could have put them in the driving seat but goalkeeper Conor White saved the low shot with an outstretched leg. St. Patrick's did manage 2 points from frees to put them a point ahead, but that was as good as it got for them as St. Vincent's / Curraha rallied with a flurry of scores. O'Hanrahan finished to the net to put them ahead once again and complete his own hat trick on 23 minutes. Shortall kicked another 2 points before his 45 was fisted to the net by Martin Fox which left no way back for St. Patrick's with 3 minutes left on the clock. Subsitute David Toner (0-1) completed the scoring in the dying moments of the game, leaving 8 points between the sides.

The final whistle was greeted with joyous celebrations from players, management and supporters alike. Delighted skipper Ciaran O'Hanrahan was then presented with the Minor Championship Division 3 cup.

St. Vincent's / Curraha team: Conor White, Evan McGovern, Barry O'Sullivan, Conor Joyce, James McEntee (0-2), Mark Crawley, Seamus Hogan, Neil Shortall (0-4), Martin Fox (1-0), Shane O'Brien, Eoin Hand (0-1), John Mangan (0-1), Donal McDermott, Ciaran O'Hanrahan (3-0), Aaron McDonnell. Subs: David Toner (0-1) for Mangan, Jamie Harford for Hand, Daniel Doran for McDermott, Billy O'Connor for O'Brien.

Most Read Stories