IFC: The John L show

May 04, 2010

Carnaross star John L McGee rises above St Colmcille's defender Ian Mullen during the Meath IFC clash at Pairc Tailteann
Carnaross 2-14
St. Colmcilles 1-8

After having a bye in the opening round of the championship, Carnaross got off to the perfect start with a convincing nine point win over St. Colmcilles.

St. Colmcilles scored the opening point of the game within a matter of seconds from a free but Carnaross responded straight from the kick out when Niall McDonnell set up Ollie Murphy to equalise with a well taken point from play. Murphy then turned provider for John L McGee to put Carnaross a point in front. Carnaross were now dominating the opening exchanges and the opening goal of the game soon followed when McGee rounded his marker and made no mistake from close range. Colmcilles responded with a point from play before McGee got his second goal after a long ball into the area from his brother Dermot was fumbled by the keeper to give Carnaross a six point lead. St. Colmcilles responded strongly however and just before half time they had taken a one point lead scoring 1-4 without reply before Dermot McGee levelled matters to leave the sides level at the interval, 2-3 to 1-6.

After the break Carnaross could not have wished for a better start with John L McGee scoring directly from the throw in. Carnaross dominated the opening ten minutes of the second half and after ten minutes they had registered eight points from McGee (6) Damian Smith (1) and Daniel Reilly (1) as St. Colmcilles struggled to get the ball out of their own half. The remainder of the second half was as good as over as a contest as Carnaross protected their lead and restricted the opposition to two points while adding further points from McGee (2) and Daniel Reilly (1).

Carnaross - Cillian Comaskey; John Plunkett, Thomas Nugent, Patrick Nugent; Eamonn Comaskey, Stein Carpenter, Peter Nugent; Brian Comaskey, Dermot McGee (0-1); Damian Smith (0-1), John L McGee (2-9), Charles Brogan; Daniel Reilly (0-2), Ollie Murphy (0-1), Niall McDonnell; Subs: Shane Comaskey for Niall McDonnell;

Most Read Stories