IFC: Na Fianna stun Dunderry

May 04, 2009

Na Fianna's Jamie Queeney
Na Fianna 1-7 Dunderry 0-8 Na Fianna recorded an excellent win over a fancied Dunderry side in the second round of the Intermediate Football Championship in a well prepared Dunshaughlin pitch on Monday. In what was a hard fought low scoring game the opening score came to Na Fianna through a Jamie Queeney free after four minutes. Despite a lot of attacking and a number of wides it took Dunderry almost twelve minutes to record their opening score. Further points from Eoin Murray and Daniel Queeney and a crucial Declan Brennan goal left the South Meath team 1-3 to 0-2 ahead with twenty minutes gone. However Dunderry kept the pressure on and this resulted in they scoring the three final points of the half to leave the score 1-3 to 0-5. Following their strong first half finish the momentum was with Dunderry and they got the first point of the second half to level matters for the first time in the match. Excellent points from play by Dean Barrett and John Baldwin were matched by a brace of Dunderry points to leave the match all square as the game entered the last ten minutes. Two points from the 'Man of the Match' Jamie Queeney put the Na Fianna men ahead in a tense final minutes to secure a well deserve victory which was greeted by their following with relief and renewed hope for the remainder of the championship. This was a day when the defenses were on top and the Na Fianna backs played well, particularly in the second half, to cancel out the constant threats from the Dunderry forwards. Having Tommy Cosgrove back from injury at the centre of the defense was a great boost. He was supported and well flanked by his brother Christy at full back, Davy Lyons, Rob Walsh, John Baldwin and Shane Burke on the wings. Jamie Queeney and his brother Brian formed a strong partnership at mid field. Few of the forwards could break from the tight Dunderry defense. Na Fianna; David McCormack, Robert Walsh, Christy Cosgrave, Davy Lyons, John Baldwin (0-1), Tommy Cosgrove, Shane Burke, Brian Queeney; Jamie Queeney (0-3); Ailbhe Mahon; Dean Barrett (0-1); Eoin Murray (0-1); Daniel Queeney (0-1); Declan Brennan (1-0); Harrison Silke. Subs: Dean Henrick for Eoin Murray; Daniel Gleeson for Ailbhe Mahon; Damien Downey for Daniel Queeney;

Most Read Stories