U21 'B': Holders advance to the semi final

August 12, 2017

Meath's Luke Moran with Sean Mulroy Mayo during the All Ireland U21 B Hurling Championship quarter final at Lomans Park Trim

Holders Meath recorded a comfortable 14 point win over Mayo in this All Ireland Under 21 B Hurling Championship quarter final at Lomans Park Trim.

Meath 2-19 Mayo 0-11

The winners were always in control and led at the break 1-10 to 0-4. Meath lined out without last years U21B hurler of the year Gavin McGowan. Midfielder Mark Slevin opened their accountant by the 15th minute the home side led 0-5 to 0-2. Mayo fought back with scores from Sean Kenny and Bryan Peoples to narrow the gap to the minimum but from there on Meath dominate and scored 1-5 without reply. 

The impressive Josh Wall hit three in a row before Ross Ryan got in for the games opening goal. Peter Farrell and Eamon O Donnacha closed out the scoring as Meath went to the dressing rooms 9 points in front.

Mikey Cullen and Ryan extended Meath's lead early in the second half. Substitute Sean O'Hanrahan raised three white flags before Meath's second goal arrived courtesy of full forward Cullen. From there on Meath were in cruise control and advanced to the semi final with minimum fuss.

Meath take on Kerry in the semi final.

Meath: Charlie Ennis, Conor McNally, Iarla Hughes, Ronan Ryan, Peter Slevin, Darragh Kelly, John McCluskey, Luke Moran, Mark Slevin 0-1, Josh Wall 0-6, Peter Farrell 0-1, Conor Kearney 0-2, Ross Ryan 1-1, Mikey Cullen 1-2, Eamon O Donnacha 0-2. Subs: Sean O'Hanrahan 0-4, Darragh Brogan, Stephen Gibbons, Ben Rickard.

Mayo: Mark Parsons, Aidan Henry, Mark Philips, Daniel Huane, Calum Gardiner 0-1, Sean Mulroy, Conor Murray, Bryan Peoples 0-3, James Gallagher, James Lyons, Davog Freyne 0-1, Ross Egan 0-1, Sean Kenny 0-5, Bobby Douglas, Ryan Kilbane. Subs: Luke Hurley, John Geraghty, Shane Geraghty, Sean Brogan.

Most Read Stories