Charlestown's Connacht title joy

November 26, 2001
Connacht Club SFC final Charlestown..............................2-9 Annaghdown..............................2-7 Charlestown of Mayo won the Connacht Club SFC title at their first attempt when getting the better of Annaghdown of Galway at Tuam Stadium. In a hugely entertaining game, the sides were level, 2-7 each, at the 50th minute stage but points by Mark Caffrey and Richard Haran edged the Mayo champs ahead and they held on to clinch victory. "This really is an incredible day for Charlestown club," said team captain David Tiernan afterwards. "Who would have thought last spring that we would be here today? It took an awful lot of hard work and so many people put so much into it but it has been worth it. "It's great to see so many happy Charlestown people. Some of them came from America to support us and we're delighted we were able to give them a great day out and hopefully there's more to come." Charlestown - J Casey; E Casey, R Lenehan, R O'Connell; D Higgins, D Healy, K Duignan; D Tiernan, A Higgins; R Haran (0-4), M Caffrey (0-3), P Mulligan (0-1); P Horkan (2-0), O Conway, S Higgins (0-1). Subs - O Gallagher for Higgins, A Mulligan for Horkan. Annaghdown - P O'Neill; V Small, A Fitzpatrick, M O'Neill; B Qualter, R Leonard, P Creaven; Morgan Duggan, Matt Duggan; D Burke (1-1), S Kavanagh (1-0), J Mannion (0-1); C Leonard, M Newell (0-3), PJ Fahy (0-2). Subs - M Melia for C Leonard, L O'Flynn for Mannion, D Naughton for Small, B Newell for Creaven.

Most Read Stories