Connacht Club SFC final: Brigid's land three-in-a-row

November 26, 2012

Cathal McHugh of St Brigid's and Thomas Regan of Ballaghaderreen during the Connacht SFC Club final at McHale Park. INPHO

St Brigid's were crowned Connacht Club SFC champions for the third year in a row when they finished with nine points to spare over Mayo champions Ballaghderreen in the final at Castlebar.

The Roscommon kingpins held a narrow 0-6 to 0-5 interval but they hit 1-5 without reply during the third quarter to pull away from their opponents.

Senan Kilbride netted the goal for Kevin McStay's charges and he finished as their top scorer with 1-5, 0-4 from play.

All Ballaghderreen could muster in the second half was a solitary pointed free from Barry Regan.

St Brigid's now advance to an All-Ireland Club SFC semi-final meeting against either Crossmaglen Rangers or Kilcoo.

St Brigid's - S Curran; R Stack, P Domican, J Murray; D Kelleher, D Donnelly, N Grehan (0-1); K Mannion, I Kilbride (0-1); E Sheehy, G Dolan, G Cunniffe; R Blaine (0-1), S Kilbride (1-5), F Dolan (0-3). Subs: D Dolan (0-1) for Sheehy, Cathal McHugh for Kelleher, Conor McHugh for Blaine, G Aherne for Donnelly, C Sheehy for Grehan.

Ballaghderreen - O Flanagan; P Rogers, K Rogers, T Regan; P Kelly, S Drake, D Drake (0-1); B Kelly (0-1), J Kilcullen; S Finn, C Doohan, O Jordan (0-1); M Tyrell (0-1), B Regan (0-2), J Dillon. Subs: R Conway for Doohan, B Solan for Tyrell, M Towey for Finn.

Referee - M Duffy.

Most Read Stories