Leinster club SFC: O'Mahonys battle back to edge out Wicklow champions

November 01, 2016

Conor Martin Sean O'Mahonys gets away from Joey Kelly of Baltinglass in the Leinster GAA Senior club championship game in Aughrim



Two late points from David Dowling and Keith McLaughlin saw Sean O'Mahonys through to the quarter-final of the Leinster Club Championship in a tense encounter at Aughrim on Sunday.

Playing their first ever game in the competition, the Louth champions displayed their now familiar never-say-die attitude to snatch victory in a game that looked to be slipping from their grasp.

The O'Mahonys looked to be in a strong position when leading by three points with 20 minutes remaining. However, the Wicklow men dominated the final quarter and after getting back on level terms they looked the more likely to win out.

Once again, the Dundalk side refused to accept defeat and struck two late points to set up a home game with Sarsfields of Kildare in the last eight.

The visitors got off to a great start and points from Ben McLaughlin (3) and Stephen Kilcoyne had them 0-4 to 0-1 ahead after 12 minutes.

It took a brilliant save from Kevin Brennan to keep his side in front while at the other end, Conor Crawley responded to a Baltinglass point to keep his side three ahead.

The closing stages of the half were evenly contested with Conor Finnegan and Kilcoyne on target for the O'Mahonys as their side went into the break with a 0-7 to 0-4 lead.

Despite losing keeper, Kevin Brennan, to injury, the Point Road side maintained their advantage as a Keith McLaughlin score saw them lead by 0-8 to 0-5 after 50 minutes.

The home side then began to get a grip on the game and despite some great defending they scored three successive points to level the game.

Just when it looked as if they would go on to win the game, the O'Mahonys hit back with points from Dowling and McLaughlin to ensure victory despite a late point from Baltinglass. 

SEAN O'MAHONYS: Kevin Brennan; Johnny Connolly, Ronan Byrne, Kurt Murphy; Liam Dullaghan, John O'Brien, Barry O'Brien; Conor Martin, Shane Brennan; Conor Finnegan 0-1, Keith McLaughlin 0-2, Stephen Fisher; Stephen Kilcoyne 0-2, Conor Crawley 0-1, Ben McLaughlin 0-3. Subs: David Dowling 0-1 for B O'Brien, David Crawley for K Brennan, Pat O'Brien for S Fisher.

Most Read Stories