Leinster club IFC final: Title for Sean O'Mahonys

November 30, 2014

Johnnie Reilly is fouled for the Ballinlough penalty. John O'Brien, Peter Nixon and Padraig O'Brien are the Sean O'Mahonys players during the Leinster Club IFC Final at Drogheda.

Sean O'Mahonys of Dundalk became the third Louth club to take home Leinster Club Intermedite Football championship honours with this three point win over Ballinlough at Drogheda.

Sean O'Mahonys (Louth) 0-10
Ballinlough (Meath) 1-4

O'Mahonys were quicker to settle and raced into a four point lead after 15 minutes. A brace from Stephen Fisher and one apiece from Stephen Kilcoyne and Gary Mulligan accounted for that opening salvo. But as they have been doing all year Ballinlough battled back and hit 1-3 inside 10 minutes. Half back Johnnie Reilly was fouled in the square and Peadar Byrne converted the penalty for the games only goal. The teams went in at the break level 1-3 to 0-6.

Scores were at a premium in the second half. The Dundalk men were down to 14 men inside five minutes when Conor Crawley was dismissed on a second yellow. That did not seem to effect O'Mahonys and they added two through half backs Keith McLaughlin and the very influential John O'Brien. Ronan McGuinness gave the Meath club some hope with a well worked point but that proved to be their only score of the half. Fisher added his third point and Kilcoyne his second to seal the issue in Sean O'Mahonys favour.

Sean O'Mahonys - K Brennan; P O'Brien, M Clarke, R Byrne; K Murphy, J O'Brien (0-1), K McLaughlin (0-1); P Nixon, S Brennan; L Dullaghan, G Mulligan (0-1), C Finnegan (0-2f); S Fisher (0-3), C Crawley, S Kilcoyne (0-2). Subs: C Martin for P Nixon, P Nixon for G Mulligan.

Ballinlough - K McGuinness; B Smith, P Muldoon, R Farrell; Colm Mallen (0-1), L Maguire, J Reilly; P Byrne (1-1, 1-0pen, 0-1f), K Devine; Cian Mallen, S Geraghty, M McCullen; K Rothwell (0-1), T McCullen, R McGuinness (0-1). Subs: S Deevey for S Geraghty, M Geraghty for M McCullen, J Tunney for K Rothwell.

Referee - B Cawley.

Most Read Stories