Padjoe shakes up Limerick panel

October 22, 2004
With the 2005 season fast approaching, Limerick hurling manager Padjoe Whelahan has selected a new look panel to represent the county with twelve new faces on board. However, no dual players are included in the squad. The Limerick manager has recalled out of favour All-Ireland U21 medallists Mark Keane, Eoin Foley and Timmy Houlihan. The other new faces in the side are Ciaran O'Dwyer, Michael Clifford, David Breen, Michael Fitzgerald, Patsy Cahill, Gareth Heageney, Alan O'Connor, Dave Ryan and Paudie O'Dwyer. Manager Whelahan has omitted a number of last year's squad members from his first look squad. Losing out are Michael McKenna, Eugene Mulcahy, Albert Shanahan, Paul O'Reilly, Willie Walsh, Eoin O'Neill, Maurice O'Brien, Johnny Meskell, James Butler and Peter O'Reilly. Also omitted from the panel are dual players, Brian Begley, Conor Fitzgerald and Stephen Lucey. Begley recently returned to club Mungret, having been out through injury. The panel was drawn up after the team management of Whelahan and selectors, Declan Nash and Joe McKenna spent the summer watching the domestic scene. Limerick get back to training tonight (Friday).

Most Read Stories