Harty Cup final: Ardscoil Ris rout local rivals

February 22, 2014

Na Piarsaigh and Limerick's Ronan Lynch.
Ardscoil Ris 2-13
Doon Scoil na Trionoide Naofa 0-4

Ardscoil Ris claimed the Harty Cup and the local bragging rights when they recorded an emphatic victory over Doon before an attendance of 3,514 at the Gaelic Grounds this afternoon.

After taking a slender 0-4 to 0-2 into the break, the city outfit turned on the style in the second half to be crowned Munster SHC 'A' kingpins for the third time in five seasons.

The game began to get away from Doon when points from Alex Morey (two), Cian Lynch and Ronan Lynch pushed the winners into a 0-8 to 0-2 lead 14 minutes into the second half. It was ended as a contest when Colin Crehan scored the opening goal in the 47th minute.

Ian Galvin added a second major four minutes later as Doon had to wait until the 56th minute for their first score from play from substitute Mark Coleman.

Scorers - Ardscoil Ris: Ronan Lynch 0-6 (3frees), Ian Galvin 1-2, Colin Crehan 1-0, Alex Morey 0-2, Micheal O'Loughlin, Cian Lynch, Thomas Grimes 0-1 each. Doon: Colin Ryan 0-3 (3 frees), Mark Coleman 0-1.

Ardscoil Ris: Paraic O'Loughlin (Clonlara); Eoghan Costello (Adare), Barry Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge), Josh O'Halloran (Na Piarsaigh); Gordan Browne (Na Piarsaigh), Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Jack English (Adare); Cian O'Brien (Mungret), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh); Charlie McCarthy (Adare), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Ian Galvin (Clonlara); Colin Crehan (O'Callaghan Mills), Alex Morey (Sixmilebridge), Micheal O'Loughlin (Clonlara). Subs: Conor Fitzgerald (Claughaun) for Micheal O'Loughlin (43mins), Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh) for Jack English (54mins), Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell) for Charlie McCarthy (54mins), Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh) for Colin Crehan (56mins), Eoghan Mulcahy (Mungret) for Josh O'Halloran (56 mins).

Doon: Shane Stapleton (Sean Treacys); Brian McPartland (Doon), Thomas Hayes (Doon), Darren Roche (Pallasgreen); Brian McCarthy (Pallasgreen), Stephen Ryan (Doon), Jack Cummins (Doon); Mike Dee (Murroe-Boher), Patrick Cummins (Doon); Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), David Buckley (Cappawhite), Shane O'Connell (Doon); Joe Lonergan (Cappamore), Dean Coleman (Doon), Barry Murphy (Doon). Subs: Mark Coleman (Doon) for Joe Lonergan (38mins), Anthony Foley (Cappamore) for David Buckley (52mins).

Referee: John O'Brien (Tipperary).

Most Read Stories