Connacht club SFC: Willies upset the odds

October 26, 2014

'Hon The Willies' Aughawillan are the Leitrim SFC champions for the first time since 1994.
Pic via Donal Keane @DonieKeane.

Aughawillan (Leitrim) 2-12
Tubbercurry (Sligo) 0-13

4/1 underdogs Aughawillan became the first Leitrim club in nine years to win a Connacht club SFC game when they shocked Tubbercurry at a blustery Markievicz Park.

The Willies, who ended their 20-year wait for county honours a few weeks ago, recovered from a slow start to set up a semi-final meeting with Galway champions and All-Ireland favourites Corofin.

Tubbercurry had opened up a 0-4 to 0-1 lead through points from David Kelly, Cian Killoran and Stephen Matthews by the end of the first quarter, but two points from Ciaran Gilheaney had the margin down the minimum by the 20th minute. The home side restored their three-point advantage before Aughawillan wing back Rory McTague netted to send the sides into the break on level terms, 1-4 to 0-7.

The teams were level a further four times on the restart, but Tubbercurry were dealt a big blow with 15 minutes to go when Brian Morahan was dismissed.

The Sligo kingpins had regained the lead before the strong-finishing visitors scored 1-2 late on, with the outstanding Gilheaney getting the final touch to Pearse Dolan's long delivery for their second goal, which brought his tally for the day to 1-8.

Aughawillan - C Maguire; D McGovern, M Quinn, G McGovern; N Beirne, N Plunkett, S Quinn; S Fox (0-2), S Flanagan; R McTague (1-0), M Plunkett, P Dolan (0-1); C Gilheany (1-7, 0-2f), G Plunkett (0-1), M Quinn. Subs: S Gilheany (0-1) for N Beirne.

Tubbercurry - D McDonagh; E Coleman, D Maye, J Kelly; F Cretaro, M Burke, C Surlis; A Brennan (0-1), S Gilmartin; B Morahan, D Kelly (0-1), G Curran; S Kilcoyne (0-2, 1f), C Killoran (0-2), S Matthews (0-4, 2f). Subs: C McGee (0-3, 1f) for A Brennan, C Gilmartin for M Burke, A Brennan for S Gilmartin (BC), J McDonagh for G Curran, D Kilcoyne for S Matthews, F McDonagh for D Kilcoyne (BC).

Referee - J Molloy.

Most Read Stories