Former Leitrim players win Dublin medals

October 24, 2003
Four of the county's former senior stars won Dublin SFC medals on Sunday, October 19. Declan Darcy, Colin McGlynn and Jason Ward, winners of Connacht SFC medals with Leitrim in 1994, were joined by Kenneth Darcy as St. Brigid's defeated Kilmacud Crokes in the final at Parnell Park. Ward had the honour of captaining the victorious team and not since 1938 and '47 when Sean McDermotts, backboned by Leitrim players, won the Dublin Championship have so many Leitrim players won Dublin medals in the one match. A large contingent of Leitrim supporters were in attaendance as the Blanchardstown club dominated most of the contest.

Most Read Stories