Leinster club SFC: Portlaoise goals kill off Killoe

November 22, 2015

Arles-Killeen's Niall O'Rourke and Paul Cahillane of Portlaoise. INPHO

Portlaoise (Laois) 5-12

Emmet Óg Killoe (Longford) 0-11

Portlaoise went on a goal-scoring spree at O'Moore Park to crush Killoe's challenge and qualify for a third Leinster club SFC final in four years.

The nine-in-a-row Laois champions were irresistible as they set up a final showdown with Ballyboden St. Enda's at O'Connor Park on December 6. Paul Cahillane finished with 2-6 to his credit after first half majors from Craig Rogers and Brian 'Bruno' McCormack had helped 'The Town' to a 2-6 to 0-7 interval lead.

After helping Ireland to victory over Australia in last night's International Rules Test, Mickey Quinn lined out at centre back for Killoe who started brightly to lead by 0-3 to 0-1 thanks to scores from Daniel Mimnagh (two) and Sean McCormack.

But after a Cahillane free left the minimum in it, Rogers raised the first green in the seventh minute to give Malachy McNulty's men a lead they wouldn't relinquish. McCormack capitalised on a defensive error to extend their lead to 2-2 to 0-3 before Denis McGoldrick and Rogers traded points.

Rogers, Cahillane and McCormack had further points for the winners, but the Longford champions replied with efforts from McCormack, McGoldrick and Paddy Kiernan to trail by five at the short whistle. 

Declan Rowley's charges were given further hope when McCormack and Mark Hughes grabbed the first two points of the second half, but two goals from Cahillane inside 90 seconds propelled Portlaoise into a 4-6 to 0-9 lead and ended the game as a contest.

There was no respite for Killoe as sub Ciaran McEvoy got in for a fifth Portlaoise goal with seven minutes to go. The visitors' misery was complete when Simon Kiernan was sent off on a second yellow card near the end.

Portlaoise - G Brody; J Delaney, C Healy, D Seale; E Whelan, K Lillis, B Mulligan (0-1); D Cullen, C Boyle; G Dillon, B Smith, C Dunphy; B McCormack (1-2), P Cahillane (2-6, 0-4f), C Rogers (1-3, 0-2f). Subs: R Maher for C Dunphy, C McEvoy (1-0) for D Cullen, K Fitzpatrick for B Smith, D Holland for C Rogers (BC), C Finn for B McCormack.

Emmet Óg Killoe - C Burns; L Hughes, P McCormack, D Keogh; S Dowd, M Quinn, C Farrelly; J McCormack, S Kiernan; D McGoldrick (0-2, 1f), D Mimnagh (0-2), P Kiernan (0-1); P Thompson, S McCormack (0-5, 3f), M Hughes (0-1). Subs: R McGoldrick for P Thompson, L Moran for D McGoldrick, E Clarke for P Kiernan, S Clarke for M Hughes, R Keogh for S Dowd.

Referee - N Ward.

Most Read Stories