Kildare SHC final: Coill Dubh unseat the holders

October 06, 2014

Coill Dubh 3-11
Celbridge 0-16

Goals proved crucial as Coill Dubh caused a surprise by dethroning holders Celbridge in the Kildare SHC final at Newbridge yesterday.

The victory gives Coill Dubh their 10th title and completed a miserable weekend for Celbridge, who also suffered defeat to Moorefield in Saturday's Kildare SFC semi-final. Eanna O'Neill's first half goal gave the winners a 1-9 to 0-8 lead at the break.

On the restart, Johnny Byrne and Ryan Casey grabbed further majors to extend Coill Dubh's advantage to nine points. Celbridge battled back, but couldn't close the gap as new champions were crowned.

Coill Dubh - D Byrne; C Gordon, M Grace, D O'Regan; M Delaney (0-5, 2f, 1'65), D Flaherty, A Carew; R Carew, E O'Neill (1-1); R Hayden, D Behan (0-1), T Byrne; A McAndrew (0-2), J Byrne (1-2), R Casey (1-0). Subs: A O'Sullivan for D Behan, C Farrell for R Hayden.

Celbridge - N Lanigan; T Finnerty, F O Muineachain, P Curtin; K Bracken, M Moloney, A McDonagh; L Quinn (0-2), B White (0-2, 1f); N O Muineachain (0-1), K Murphy, T Murphy; G Keegan (0-9, 7f), M Kinsella, D Butler (0-2). Subs: F Conway for K Murphy, S White for A McDonagh.

Referee - B Cawley.

Most Read Stories