Leinster club SFC: Moorefield advance

November 10, 2013

Moorefield's Kevin Murnaghan and Ross Glavin lift the trophy. INPHO
There were no surprised in today's Leinster club senior football championship semi-finals which saw Summerhill, St Vincent's and Moorefield making their way into the last four of the province.

In Wexford Park, it was smooth sailing for Luke Dempsey's Moorefield as they thumped an out of sorts St Martin's side by 2-13 to 0-4, with Patrick Murray and David Whyte grabbing goals in each half for the Kildare champions.

Murray's goal helped the visitors into a 1-5 to 0-3 interval lead and it was one way traffic after the resumption.

St Vincent's defeated St Loman's in Mullingar. You can read that match report here.

In Drogheda, Meath champions Summerhill were made come through a nail-biting contest with hosts Newtown Blues to secure their last four berth. You can read that match report here.

Moorefield - T Kinsella; L Callaghan, G Haughton, P O'Flynn; R Houlihan, K Murnahan (0-1), J Lonergan; D Flynn (0-1), R Glavin; A Mullins (0-1), P Murray (1-0), A Tyrrell; N Hurley Lynch (0-2), R Sweeney (0-1), C Kelly (0-4). Subs: D Whyte (1-2, 0-2f) for Murray, K Duane (0-1) for Tyrrell, F Hanniffy for Mullins, K O'Neill for Glynn, P Wolfe for Sweeney.

St Martin's - T Hayes; J Coleman, K Price, M Maloney; E O'Byrne, D Hayes, P Kelly; S Murphy (0-1), D Waters; B Berney, C Lyng (0-2, 1f), J Boggan; J Carty, R Devereux, C Redmond (0-1). Subs: R Murphy for Berney, P Waters for O'Byrne, D Higgins for Coleman, D Byrne for Carty, D Fossett for Redmond.

Referee - J Hickey.

Most Read Stories