Munster club SFC final: 14-man Stacks bridge 38-year gap

November 30, 2014

Austin Stacks' Mikey Collins under pressure from Diarmuid Wall of The Nire during the Munster club SFC final.
©INPHO/Cathal Noonan.

Austin Stacks (Kerry) 3-5
The Nire (Waterford) 2-4

Austin Stacks recovered from a slow start and the dismissal of Shane Carroll to beat The Nire in a low-scoring Munster club football final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Despite losing their free-taker to a second yellow card in the 14th minute, the Kerry side's ability to score goals saw them to their first provincial title since 1976. Underdogs The Nire made a terrific start to lead by 1-3 to 0-0 after eight minutes, but Stacks battled back to go into the break on level terms, 2-1 to 1-4, before taking control in the second period.

Shane O'Callaghan, David Mannix and Pa McCarthy (penalty) all found the net for the Kerry champions to complete an unforgettable year for their county star Kieran Donaghy.

The Waterford kingpins couldn't have asked for a better start with Shane Ryan's brilliant third-minute goal being supplemented by points from Michael O'Gorman and minor ace Conor Gleeson.

Man of the match O'Callaghan settled Stacks with an eighth-minute goal, but they were dealt a major blow six minutes later when Carroll saw red.

However, a mistake by The Nire goalkeeper Tom Wall in the 20th minute handed them a second goal and left the minimum in it. Wall's clearance went straight to O'Callaghan who set up Mannix for a neat finish via the inside of the post. Mannix then added a point from a free to leave it all square at the short whistle as The Nire finished the half with a couple of bad wides from frees.

The Tralee outfit outscored their opponents by 1-4 to 1-0 in the second period to secure a deserved victory. Michael Moore registered The Nire's only score when he netted in the 39th minute, but their joy was short-lived as Pa McCarthy's penalty at the opposite end two minutes later gave Stacks a winning platform.

Austin Stacks - D O'Brien; F McNamara, B Shanahan, D McElligott; P McCarthy (1-0pen), C Jordan, C O'Connell; W Guthrie, G Horan; M Collins (0-1), S Carroll, D Bohan; D Mannix (1-2, 0-2f), K Donaghy, S O'Callaghan (1-1). Subs: J Dennis for C O'Connell, F Mangan (0-1) for M Collins, W Kirby for W Guthrie, D Long for D Mannix, M O'Donnell for D Bohan.

The Nire - T Wall; J Walsh, T O'Gorman, Maurice O'Gorman; D Wall, B Wall (0-1f), S Lawlor; C Guiry, S Walsh;  Michael O'Gorman (0-1), M Moore (1-0), J Barron; C Gleeson (0-1), L Lawlor, S Ryan (1-1). Subs: K Guiry for J Walsh, T Cooney for S Ryan, D Ryan for C Guiry.

Referee - C Lane.

Most Read Stories