All-Ireland Club IFC final: All-Ireland glory for Cookstown

February 09, 2013

Cookstown Fr. Rocks' Brian Mulligan and Paul Galvin of Finuge. INPHO
Cookstown Fr Rocks 1-9
Finuge 0-6

Owen Mulligan captained Cookstown Fr Rocks to victory over Kerry's Finuge in the All-Ireland Club IFC final at Croke Park on Saturday evening.

Mulligan and his team-mates prevented Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice from ending his playing career on a winning note with a six point success.

The Tyrone start was his side's joint top scorer with three points - two of which came from frees - and they led by 0-5 to 0-4 at the interval.

James McGahan's 38th minute goal gave the Ulster champions a five-point cushion before a Paul Galvin narrowed the gap with a 13m free.

The dismissals of Maurice and Pat Corridan undermined Finuge's prospects of glory and Mulligan and John Gilmore pointed to seal the win for Cookstown.

Cookstown Fr Rocks - M Rea; P McGurk, S Monaghan, S McGarrity (0-1); R Pickering, M Murray, M Hughes (0-1); C Mullan, C O'Hare; J Quinn (0-3), B Hughes, B Mulligan; J Gilmore (0-1), O Mulligan (0-3), J McGahan (1-0). Subs: R Mulgrew for O'Hare, D Hughes for McGurk, B Mulligan for Mullan, R Mullan for McGarrity, P Kelly for B Mulligan.

Finuge - C Fitzmaurice; C Allen, T McKenna, D McCarthy; Paudie Galvin, P Corridan (0-1), C Fitzmaurice; M Corridan, P Galvin (0-1); Raymond Galvin, J Griffin (0-1), S Power; M Conway, E Fitzmaurice (0-2), J Flaherty (0-1). Subs: R Heffernan for Power, K Roche for Paudie Galvin, J Corridan for Conway, J McCarthy for Flaherty.

Referee - F Kelly.

Most Read Stories