Ryan Cup win for Tralee IT

February 28, 2011
Tralee IT won the Ryan Cup competion that was the curtinraiser to the Fitzgibbon Cup final at Waterford IT grounds. Tralee It had some notable limerick hurlers on parade with Garry Murphy Patrickswell in Goal, Nickie Quaid and Michael Rea from Effin Mark Deegan from Hospital Herbertstown, Michael Kiely from Bally brown, Eoin Ryan from Kilmallock, Padraig O Connor from Ahane, James Riordan from Templeglantine and team Captain Eoin OBrien from Kildimo. Tralee IT defeated Trinity College Dublin 2 13 to 7 points in the semi final and then met Carlow IT in the final. In the final Tralee playing with a strong breeze built started well and led by 9 points to 1 after 14 minutes but Carlow recovered and by the short whistle had reduced the margin to 4 points 11 points to a goal and 4 . carlow playedc very well in the first period of the second half and the teams were level with 12 minutes to go. Tralee then took control and built up a 5point lead but had to withstand a tremendous fight back from Carlow to run out worthy winners on a scoreline of Tralee 1 17 Carlow 1 15. All Limerick contributed well to this great contest notably Mark Deegan, James Riordan and Michael Rea in defence Eoin Ryan and Man of the match Nickie Quaid in midfield, and Michael Kiely and team captain Eoin OBrien in attack.

Most Read Stories