Kerry SHC: Ballyduff power to 22nd title

October 11, 2010
Ballyduff joined Kilmoyley at the top of the Kerry SHC roll of honour after defeating Lixnaw to capture their 22nd title at Austin Stack Park.

Ballyduff 2-18
Lixnaw 2-9

Ballyduff's nine-point winning margin could not have been predicted at half-time when they trailed by 1-8 to 0-10 with county star Mike Conway accounting for the Lixnaw goal. The winners had two penalties saved before their pressure finally told when Aidan Boyle found the net in the 38th minute to give them a 1-10 to 1-8 lead.

Lixnaw sprung county football star Paul Galvin from the bench and remained in touch thanks to a second Conway goal.

But Ballyduff pulled clear with points from Bobby O'Sullivan (three), Padraig Boyle and substitute Thomas O'Rourke before Boyle netted a minute from the end to put a flattering look on the scoresheet.

Most Read Stories