Kerry SHC: Kilmoyley win record 22nd title

September 28, 2009
Kilmoyley moved to the top of the Kerry SHC roll of honour following a comfortable victory over St. Brendan's, Ardfert in yesterday's county decider at Austin Stack Park, Tralee. Kilmoyley..1-19 St. Brendan's2-8 Kilmoyley's sixth title of the decade never looked in any doubt after Shaun Young hammered home the opening goal in the 29th minute to give them a 1-9 to 0-6 lead at the break. Up until then, St. Brendan's had given as good as they got, but conceding a goal just before half-time clearly had a demoralising effect on them. Kilmoyley took complete control in the second half and with top-scorer Shane Brick, Colin Harris, Maurice Murnane, James Godley and Ian Brick to the fore, they had surged into a 1-17 to 0-8 lead with 10 minutes remaining. St. Brendan's captain Darren Dineen scored two late goals from frees, but they were mere consolation scores.

Most Read Stories