All-Ireland MHC: Galway cruise into semi-final

July 27, 2014

Galway minor hurling manager Mattie Murphy
Galway 2-20
Antrim 0-9

Galway have set up a repeat of last year's controversial All-Ireland MHC semi-final with Limerick after dominating the second half of today's quarter-final against Antrim at Kingspan Breffni Park.

Mattie Murphy's charges will travel to Croke Park on August 17 knowing Limerick will be hell-bent on avenging last year's extra-time defeat, that was overshadowed by a Hawk-Eye malfunction in the opening minutes which cost the Treaty County dearly.

Although flattered to lead by 1-9 to 0-6 at the break, the Tribesmen bossed the second period with substitute Jack Grealish's goal 11 minutes from time putting the seal on a comfortable victory.

Jarlath Mannion, Brian Burke and Conor Whelan were on target as the winners opened up an early 0-4 to 0-1 lead. But Antrim hit back with three Christy McNaughton frees to draw level.

Jamie Holland and Burke replied with points for Galway before a Mannion goal eased them into a 1-9 to 0-5 lead in the 27th minute. But they had a major let-off on the stroke of half-time when Antrim's Conor Patterson had a goal controversially disallowed by referee David Hughes.

The Westerners took a firm grip on proceedings after the restart as Burke, Whelan, David Mangan and Conor Shaughnessy kept the scoreboard ticking over. And it was all over bar the shouting when Gort clubman Grealish raised a second green flag in the 49th minute, with subs Kevin McHugo and Joseph Mooney tagging on late points.

Galway - G Loughnane; D Cronin, O Coyle, S Roche; R Doyle, J Holland (0-2, 1f, 1'65), R Bellew; D Nevin (0-2), R Kilkelly; C Whelan (0-5), D Mangan (0-3), S Linnane; J Mannion (1-0), B Burke (0-4, 3f), C Shaughnessy (0-1). Subs: K McHugo (0-2) for R Kilkelly, J Grealish (1-0) for J Mannion, S Whelan for C Shaughnessy, J Mooney (0-1) for D Mangan, A Helebert for B Burke.

Antrim - C Butler; C Walsh, R McNulty, HP McNeill; G Walsh, E Conlon, R Rooney; C McMullan, C McCaughan (0-1); R Irvine, J McNaughton (0-2), C McNaughton (0-5f); J McCurdy, J Connolly, S McLaughlin. Subs: C Patterson for R Irvine, D Carey for R Rooney, J Carey (0-1) for S McLaughlin, J Maskey for C McMullan, S Garland for J McCurdy.

Referee - D Hughes.

Most Read Stories