Connacht club IHC: Kilnadeema/Leitrim survive late rally

November 18, 2013

Former Kiltomer and Galway star Justin Campbell. INPHO
Galway's Kilnadeema/Leitrim are the new Connacht club IHC champions following a 1-14 to 2-9 win over Tooreen of Mayo at Athleague yesterday.

Kilnadeema/Leitrim lead 1-4 to 0-4 at the interval. David Tierney netted their goal on eight minutes after good work from the impressive Brian Molloy.

The Galway outfit took the game by the scruff of the neck from the restart with scores from Molloy and full forward Shane Lawless.

Two late goals from Mayo county star Kenny Feeney were not enough for Tooreen who were left to rue their first half misses.

Kilnadeema/Leitrim - K Boyle; P Deely, D O'Donoghue, P Stapleton; D Tierney (1-0), E Hyland, A Spaight; M Kelly, D Herlihy; A Mitchell, L Geraghty, T Tierney; B Molloy (0-11, 8f), S Lawless (0-3), M Donoghue. Sub: D Donoghue for M Donoghue.

Tooreen - A Hession; C Finn, S Morley, B Delaney; S Coyne, M Morley, G Nolan; C Freeman (0-2), C Charlton; D Kenny, R Larkin (0-1), F Boland (0-3, 1f); K Feeney (2-3, 1-2f), P Hunt, J Ganley. Subs: S Boland for J Ganley, S Markham for P Hunt, C English for R Larkin.

Referee - T Carroll.

Most Read Stories